We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #15 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A gem of a place”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I have spent three wonderful nights here while visiting my granddaughter. The whole ambience is inviting, and the decor is fresh and tastefully appointed. Everything is spotless and Jackie and Norman go out of their way to make the stay comfortable. I've enjoyed my long chats with them both as well as my morning conversations with students assisting them. The breakfasts are prepared to order from the freshest ingredients. If you plan to come book well in advance.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your review of our establishment, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
70
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
242 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Excellent central location, one of the best prepared breakfasts we've experienced, extremely helpful and customer-oriented proprietors, very nicely appointed rooms. This is one of our est B&B experiences...it's a stone's throw from the Old Course, the beach, the best restaurants...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InLondonAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially our breakfast! We try our best to source local produce & offer a variety of choices to our guests. Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

If you are planning a trip to St. Andrews, golfing or not, I highly recommend that you stay at Five Pilmour Place. The rooms are modern, clean and very comfortable, the breakfast is super and they are flexible to your morning schedule. The location could not be better with a one minute walk to the 1st tee on the Old Course and a three minute walk to all the pubs, restaurants and other fun on Market St. and South St. However, what sets the place apart is the professionalism and friendliness of Jackie and Norman the owners of Five Pilmour. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and cater to all your vacation needs ranging from golf to dinner reservations and ground transportation. I certainly hope to revisit St. Andrews, and, if so, there is no doubt that we’re coming back to Five Pilmour Place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us & found everything to your satisfaction. It was nice to have been part of the surprise for your father! Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Small and comfortable room, immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast fabulous. owners friendly and helpful. Situation good - near the Old Course, University and restaurants. Will return soon but book quickly as very small (but cosy).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BachusGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, facilities etc.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Everything was top notch at this beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations were clean and modern, the breakfast was wonderful and tasty and the location was just down the street from the Old Course. We spent three days at this B&B and it was such a nice experience we would wholeheartedly recommend it to anybody staying in St Andrews.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Thank you for your review & feedback of our establishment it is much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

There is really not much more to say than perfect!
Me and my boyfriend really recomend this wonderful b&b. It was clean, looked beautiful, had good breakfast (gluten free) and lovely hosts. If we are ever going back to st.Andrews there is no doubt as to where we would want to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Sunniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you found everything to your satisfaction. We are always trying to improve our breakfast menu to include gluten free choices for our guests. Look forward to welcoming you back should you get the opportunity to return to St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Five Pilmour Place is, quite simply, a Scottish B&B paradise. Everything is sterling-perfect, from the full Scottish Breakfast, to the wonderful staff, to the bedrooms and bathrooms, to the location.

Jackie was an amazing hostess, very flexible, even allowing us to leave our bags in the dining room for several hours after we checked out before heading back to Edinburgh. Carolina was an absolute joy to talk to in the morning during breakfast. The breakfast itself is very delectable, and the family-style dining guarantees that you leave after breakfast with new friends.

The rooms are very spacious and are put together very well; not a single lightbulb was out (one of my pet peeves), the beds were reasonably comfortable, and there was plenty of storage space for clothing and luggage. The blackout shades were welcome, providing reasonable privacy from the street below. The bathroom was fantastic and very large, with a bathtub the size of a small boat, and just about as sea-worthy! The temperature in the rooms was always comfortable, and the heated floors and towel racks were quite welcome. These simple things really make a hotel room home.

There was a bit of street-noise late at night, which I attribute to the students' partying; staying off-season does have its drawbacks.

The location; ah, perfection. But a few minutes walk to the Scores (affording breathtaking sunrises and wonderful vistas of St. Andrews) and the Old Course, and about a five minutes walk to the city centre, Five Pilmour Place could not have been in a better place. Also, its central location to the bus stop was paramount.

All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you try to get a room not so much on the street; a side room would definitely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradswissman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & found everything to your liking. We try our upmost to offer our guests the best possible facilities and are always looking for ways to improve. Hope that you may have the opportunity to return to St Andrews in the future & stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing