We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay!”
Review of Hazelbank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hazelbank Hotel
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We showed up in St. Andrews late one afternoon without reservations. Found a room for one night at the property next to this one and had to move the following day. Moving was our good fortune - we ended up at Hazelbank. Awesome location - sea view room - golf course nearby. Our room was well decorated and nicely furnished with a great bathroom. The place was classy - spotless and tastefully decorated. The service was impeccable. Michael was welcoming and gracious and helpful in providing information. Definite recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Hazelbank Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed there in September 2011. The hotel is located just few meters from the sea. I booked single room, which was very good with comfortable bed and clean bathroom.
+ the WIFI worked without any problems
+ tasty breakfast
+ fantastic location, walking distance to all St Andrews highlights
+ helpful and friendly owner

I truly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

As international parents delivering their daughter to University we have made several trips to St Andrews this past year to view the school, move in and visit our daughter. We found Hazelbank by far the most convenient, comfortable, economical, and friendliest place to stay. The location on the Scores and view of the North Sea is amazing. Michael and his crew have gone out of their way to accomodate us and we will definitely be spending all our visits there until she graduates. They put up with our excessive luggage, gave our son his own room on the house when we visited for Thanksgiving and shared lots of local knowledge. You can't go wrong staying at Hazelbank. I almost hate to let the secret out for fear that they will be booked up next time we call, but Hazelbank deserves the praise.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooking the water is awesome...just don't book when we need it!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

This was my 1st time staying here and i would definitely recommend it. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and Michael the owner made us feel so welcome and at home.
We had a party of 7 females ages ranging from 38 - 76 and had a very good and relaxing time.
will be going back if i am up in St.Andrews again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the Hazelbank B & B. Michael and his staff were very warm and welcoming with their service and hospitality and we met some great acquaintenances during our stay! Great location for golf, restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. It made our trip all that more memorable! We would definitely stay here again and will recommend the Hazelbank to friends who plan a visit to St. Andrews.

Denny & Linda Atwood
Roseburg,Oregon USA

Room Tip: The corner rooms overlooking the North Sea are very comfortable with a nice view!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Extremely loved this place. Service was exceptionally good, honestly much better than lot of four star hotels we have been to. We got the wonderful room with a lovely view. Very neat and clean place and very helpful people. We were little late for the breakfast but they made sure to inform us before removing it and waited for us. So I can say they well look after each and every guest. Thank you guys and especially the owners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraP35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I chose the Hazelbank because of the location near the Old course and the University. I was delighted with the choice. The Hazelbank is a throughly modern hotel located on The Scores, one block to the Old Course, one block to the University. Our room was very large, very comfortable and very nice.
The owners were charming hosts who took excellent care of their guests. Michael was a fantastic host. Breakfast was excellent.
I will be back on my next trip to St Andrews.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alfromlenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazelbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazelbank Hotel

Address: 28 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Hazelbank Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing