We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ogstons On North Street
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good hotel, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for one night at the end of our week-long tour around Scotland. Nicely decorated, decent room but way too hot!! It's obviously a known issue, because there was an air-conditioning unit in the bedroom, but even after leaving it running for several hours the room was still like an oven, and it was too noisy to leave on all night. We would really have liked another night in St Andrews, but there was no way I could stay in that room! However, the breakfast was really good and the staff were excellent. Perhaps it would be better suited to a stay in November rather than June!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannie7r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    87
    40
    22
    2
See reviews for
43
106
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business for one night. When I arrived the rooms looked nice. My view was a back of another building but I wasn't too bothered as I wouldn't be spending much time at the hotel. They have a lounge downstairs open til 2am so techno music played up til then so not the best sleep I've ever had! Got up early to have a shower no hot water! Called reception no answer called manager no answer. Found a cleaner who said she would check the boiler but never returned. So cold shower it was then half way through the pressure went..

Breakfast was ok. Overall I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaDeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Ogstons is a wonderful boutique hotel. They did a good job transforming an old Victorian styled building into the 18 rooms hotel. Our room is good sized, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom with good shower. The staff is attentive and helpful. The best part is their breakfast, with several selection of hot, made-to-order dishes, plus the buffet table of regular breakfast items. We had dinner there one night and were impressed with their Scottish and 'fish board' selections. Delicious and good portion, in a nice dinning room facing the North Street. The location is another of their strong point. It is within a short walk from the world famous Old (golf) course and the town center. Being a small university town, nothing is too far away of course. Only one thing they could improve is to have a box of tissue paper in the room. Everything else is perfect!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MojaveMaxNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valpraiso
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

Cannot speak highly enough about our stay. Wonderful room, (we were in no. 14) with a pretty view of the street and a lovely bay window and set of window seats. Large comfy armchair and wonderful bed. Ogstons was far more like an extremely upmarket B and B with extra services - with it's spacious rooms, excellent cooked breakfasts and personal attention, assistance and service. We ate in the restaurant one evening and again, an exceptionally delicious meal at great value. Located perfectly in the heart of St Andrews just moments from all the golf courses and other historical sites. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Ours was perfect, loved the corner aspect and the height - but get in touch, have a chat as staff ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2traveloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

As a fussy hotel manager staying away for a week that I am , Ogstons on north street gave us a splendid , comfy week to remember . Nothing was too much trouble for Fraser and his team from the moment jonny greeted us to the last well cooked tasty breakfast on departure . we ate twice in the hotel during the 5 day stay and had a great experience both times . It is great to find somewhere that prides itself on good service in a very competitive town . Thanks for the break , we will return next year,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorthamPaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelso
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

One night In St Andrews, had a great stay at Ogstons . Nice rooms very clean and tidy . Nice big shower . Very good and helpful staff especially young lad on reception who booked our resteraunt for us . Only one drawback , parking in wee car park very limited. Will definitely be back !!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Just back from a great weeks golf, from all the staff including the owner nothing was a problem. The standard and choice in the restaurant was very good, also everything is so handy to the hotel. So from 6 happy golfers from Diss thanks to Fraser and team.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JaneAnne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogstons On North Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogstons On North Street

Property: Ogstons On North Street
Address: 127 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ogstons On North Street 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel right in the heart of St Andrews, the Home of Golf. Nominated for Small Hotel of the Year in the 2009 Golf Tourism Scotland Awards and recommended in the Eating Out in Fife 2012 Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ogstons On North Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogstons On North Street Hotel St. Andrews
Ogstons On North Street St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing