We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doune Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doune Guest House
Ranked #25 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Brilliant B&b
Great warmth from Del and Marie
Excellent accommodation and food
Looked after all your needs, comfortable clean, just the best.
Excellent for golfers and visitors to a great place.
If you want to have the best stay in a quality location close to everything you desire you cannot go wrong with this Bed and Breakfast.
I recommend the scrambled egg and Smoked salmon just superb.
Great Bathroom facilities all you need shower gel, shampoo soap all on tap.
I recommend this as probably the best facility I haver stayed in

Room Tip: Twin Room 7. All my friends and fellow golfers enjoyed the experience. Walking distance to the Town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memps5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
48
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night at Doune House B and B in St Andrews on a golfing trip. Arrived to find that we had been given a double room each, despite booking a double and a twin, at no extra cost! The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable! After a 'few' beers the night before the smell of a cooked breakfast was the perfect aroma to wake to! The breakfast was awesome and set us up for a wonderful days golf!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeComerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

A colleague and I stayed here for a week while up in Scotland for the week on business. It was by far the nicest hotel we stayed in over the 5 nights. Maria (the owner) was absolutely lovely, and really helpful when we stuck in a traffic diversion on the way there with no idea how to get around it, and with advice about St Andrews. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, neat and pretty, and the breakfast was really excellent. There is also a free car park right next door, which is really handy. A really good stay, I would definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnetka, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Doune Guest House was perfect for our visit to St Andrews. The location is central to everything in town. A large parking lot is a few steps away.
Maria and Dell are most welcoming, and we felt right at home. Our room was spotless and bright. The breakfast was made-to-order and was delicious.
I will gladly stay again when I return to St Andrews! Many thanks to our wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My sister and I stayed here 3 nights on our visit to St. Andrews. The location is tucked away in a little street and quiet. We had daily friendly conversations with Maria who gave plenty of helpful recommendations of the area upon arrival and provided delicious breakfasts. The room was so welcoming with very comfortable beds, an ensuite fully stocked bathroom, and a great shower with plenty of hot water. Strong wi-fi, although the tv signal would cut out often, but as we spent most of our time out and about, it didn't matter anyway. The room was always tidied when we got back. We were quite sad to go. Would highly recommend and most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

It's often difficult finding accommodation for the single traveler, but this place came through and at a very reasonable price. The location is perfect for either golf or visiting a student (my trip) and I couldn't have been happier with my stay. The bed was quite comfortable, a real boon for a sore back. My hosts even moved me to a larger suite when one became available! Great service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just a quick note to say thank you so much to Maria and Dell. We were a golf party of 4 gents staying for a long weekend of super golf. Maria and Dell could not have been more helpful and the rooms and breakfasts were delightful. Won't stay anywhere else in St Andrews from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbgsypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#14 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#23 of 77 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#3 of 77 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Property: Doune Guest House
Address: 5 Murray Place, St Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing