We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Edenside House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edenside House
Ranked #38 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a gold trip to St Andrews. Great accommodation, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The owners are very friendly, helpful and hospitably. Breakfast was excelllent with a superb choice and when we had to leave early, they kindly prepared food for us to take with us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed overnight at Edenside House for the second time, with my son as part of a motorcycle trip. The accommodation is beautifully kept, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The welcome we received was very warm and friendly and they couldn't do enough to make us welcome. Breakfast was brilliant with a superb choice of food including kippers and haddock.... I will definitely recommend this wonderful accommodation. Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Nice accommodation close to town - quiet spot along the water. Rooms are clean but a little small if you have much luggage. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VJousan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed for four nights for business and really enjoyed it. Really well cooked and huge breakfast and Douglas and Yvonne were great hosts. Comfortable bedroom and really peaceful. Just outside St Andrews and perfect for all local highlights

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Edenside House many, many times while our son was at St.Andrews University. Hospitality of Douglas and Yvonne was truly superb. Breakfast was a joy and the rooms were always clean, warm and very comfortable. Highly recommended for visits to St.Andrews and Fife.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A twin en-suite ground floor room was booked for 2 nights, but with snow the night before any worries abour our room being cold were dispelled as soon as we arrived. In fact by the end of our stay the opposite was true as we were compelled to open the secondary glazed windows on our last morning, we were so warm. Our room was one of a pair sharing a front door but with separate lockable doors inside an entrance hall this would have made this an ideal set up for a family. Set back from the road the rooms are quiet and with adjacent parking, some round the back of the unit with views across the estuary, others are south facing. The owners were very interested in their guests interests and needs and were most helpful throughout our stay; breakfasts were ordered the night before, but were from a good selection and were cooked to order on our arrival at table. The room was well supplied with the usual furniture and accessories, and our request for a hairdryer was dealt with promptly and without a fuss, but a minor complaint was the very squeaky floorboards throughout the room/bathroom. My bed was a lot firmer than I am used to but I still managed decent nights sleep during our stay. Handy for St Andrews golf links you could walk there if pushed but it is best to have your own transport when staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

A group of 5 golfers stayed at the Edenside house in June/July of 2012 for 5 nights. Edenside is approximately a 5-8 minute drive from St. Andrews (traffic dependent). St. Andrews is not in walking distance. We used its location as a staging area for our golf in St. Andrews and in the wider Fife region.

This property affords excellent value to the cost conscious traveler. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean and perfectly adequate. The bathrooms were, as well, clean and adequate.

The views of the estuary are surprisingly nice and provide an excellent backdrop to an interesting property.

The owners were exceptionally nice, providing excellent service and lots of friendly advice. The breakfast each morning was, as well, absolutely top notch.

To sum it up, this establishment provided us with clean/comfortable though not-fancy rooms, a great breakfast, fantastic service from exceptionally nice owners approximately 5 mins from St. Andrews at what is, in my opinion, a very reasonable rate.

I would not hesitate to stay again if/when I return to the Kingdom of Fife.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.9 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.5 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#42 of 72 in St Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.4 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenside House

Property: Edenside House
Address: Edenside, St Andrews KY16 9SQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenside House is superbly situated on the Eden estuary a haven for bird-life. Our extensive breakfast menu includes fresh fish and Vegetarian options. Parking on our own grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edenside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edenside House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing