We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 73 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The setting for this B&B is superb. The view from the breakfast room across to the castle and beyond to the wide stretch of the sea is magnificent! The breakfast was delicious with a wonderful dish of fresh fruit salad - strawberries, grapes, kiwi fruit and so on provided each morning, to take with Greek yogurt if wished. The choices of cooked breakfasts included, apart from the usual eggs, bacon etc, pancakes or eggs benedict.
The owners are very friendly, and helpful with suggestions of activities in the area.
Our bedroom was extremely comfortable, and one is welcome to stay in the house during the day. A bonus for us, as we had been travelling several days before arriving at Castlemount, was being able to use the washing machine and dryer in the kitchen.

Room Tip: The Master's Room has a perfect view of the castle and the sea beyond
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay. The B&B is in a historic building that virtually every tourist took photos of just opposite the castle ruins. Town is right around the corner so everything is nearby and accessible by foot.

Parking is easy to find on the road fronting the B&B after 17:00 during the week but a bit more challenging earlier than this due commuters and students of St. Andrews University.

Service was great for a B&B, excellent and fast breakfasts but not for the late riser, as it is served between 08:30 and 9:00am. This was good to force us to get up.

Payment is by check or wire transfer as credit cards are not accepted.

Room Tip: Street side rooms will have a great view of the castle ruins and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CA-Gloor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

It was mine and my Mothers first trip to Scotland. It's been a dream of my Mothers for 30 yrs or more to got to Scotland so we decided it was now or never. I found the Castlemount on line and fell in love with at first site. It's a Charming stone house that is directly acrros from the St. Andrews Castle. When you have breakfast it's your view. The Owners Jerry and Linda are warm, welcoming and down to earth they made us feel like family not just a guest. The rooms are clean and chraming and all ensuit. The is no lift (elevator) but my Mother who is 81 had no troulbe with the stairs that are lined with Jerry's memorabilia from his days as a Navy Pilot and lovely antiques.
Breakfast is wonderful cooked by Christine and served by Yvonne with big smiles and warm welcomes. I never went hungry eating the wonderful Scottish breakfast or the yummy porage. All produce and meat and eggs are purchased from local farmer. I have never seen and egg yolk so orange!
Everything is in walking distance and if you get tired( or had a bit to much at the pub) it's only a few pounds for a taxi to get back to the Castlemount.
We only stayed for 2 days at the Castlemount but next time when we are back in St.Andrews we will take at least 3-4 days and MOST DEFINITELY stay at the Castlemount. If I could give it 7 stars I would!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Great welcome and hospitality again from Jerry and Linda-Anne. Lovely bright room, fantastic view from dining room, great home-cooked breakfasts with excellent service, cosy and relaxed vibe to the house. Love St Andrews, love Castlemount.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chobhamlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Superb location & brilliant hosts. Lovely rooms & top quality breakfast. Couldn't of been a better stay. Handy for restraraunts & pubs. Great views & walks outside. Jerry, Linda & team excel. Particularly enjoyed Jerry's chats about flying jets for the US Navy - a living legend !

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oobbeeddoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Castlemount St. Andrews has everything you're looking for in your Scotland experience. Located at the shore of the sea overlooking the old castle it's your home in Scotland with comfortable rooms, delicious home made breakfast and hosts with a heart.

You'll be looked after and taken care - we've been visiting Castlemount for the second time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Castlemount over the weekend of the 15th/16th March. From arrival to departure the owners Jerry and Linda-Anne were excellent hosts .
We where on a University visit , and can honestly we will be using the Castlemount for future visits if our son goes to St Andrews.
We had a family room( the patio room) which where 2 ajoining rooms , the main being very large . Both beautifully decorated and cosy. Breakfast was fantastic , something for everyone . Cooked breakfasts , fresh fruit , home made pancakes and maple syrup.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJPSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St Andrews
272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kinburn Guest House
Kinburn Guest House
#28 of 73 in St Andrews
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 73 in St Andrews
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlemount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemount Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 The Scores, St Andrews KY16 9AR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castlemount Hotel St. Andrews
Castlemount Bed And Breakfast St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing