We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! Excellent location and Amazing Breakfast”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #15 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it! Excellent location and Amazing Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We were at Hoppity House for a graduation in June and absolutely loved it. Gordon was delightful and helpful. After a full Hoppity House breakfast we were set until dinner--- Amazing eggs, salmon, cereal the works. Our room was bright and cheerful and the location could not have been better. Thanks for a fabulous stay. =)

Room Tip: Our Room on the second floor over looking the street was bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethesdaTripTakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
52
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Was not impressed! I had booked 2 rooms by phone with confirmation email received from Gordon and when I arrived he had no rooms available as he had double booked and was initially insisting it was my error-until I showed him the confirmation he had sent. He was not particularly apologetic and although he did call a few other places they were all full so we were left at 5pm with no place to stay and a wedding to attend in the morning

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank TRAVELLER123012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. Great location. Service was outstanding, I had to arrange for a late arrival and Gordon couldn't be more accomindating! New and clean rooms. I will recommend to ANY one staying in St Andrews! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GolferGirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I have to clarified that I stayed in the Hoppity House located at 4 Murray Park (the owner I believe has two houses).
The location of the house is fantastic, close to the shopping/restaurants, the Old Course, the beach, etc. . Gordon Mitchell the Land Lord is friendly and helpful in many ways. You feel happy to see him every morning at breadfast time. The breadfast is first class. Good quality food and very well prepared. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. If I ever travel to St. Andrews again, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocolate38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I put together a "dream" golf trip to Scotland with me, my son, my friend and his son. We obviously had to include St. Andrews in the trip and I researched the area looking for a good place to stay. I hit the jackpot with the Hoppity House. Gordon, Heather and Valerie couldn't have been nicer to us throughout our 3 day stay. The service, food, location, rooms and, most importantly, hospitality were fantastic.
I asked Gordon if he could put our names in the Old Course Ballot during our stay. He worked his magic and delivered a perfect tee time to us. I swear Heather and Valerie were as thrilled as us that we were selected and would be playing the Old Course the following morning!
Traveling and golfing Scotland with my son was a dream come true for me and it all started at the Hoppity House. This is truly a great place to stay, I give it my highest recommendation. As Gordon would say "Brilliant"!

Room Tip: Street side is a bit noisy, try to get a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BT10328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

we came to hoppity house for a couple of nights while we played golf in the auld toon. gordon is the owner and lives very close by. when we arrived we called him. within a couple of minutes we were in the house.

one measure of quality is how a request is handled. we noticed the alarm clock battery had probably been pinched by the prior guest. a curtain hook was missing. the requests were taken cheerfully and dealt with expeditiously.

the beds were perfect.

breakfast was delicious.

the price was very reasonable given the enviable location between the scores and north street.

gordon has done a wonderful job upgrading the establishment from its condition with the prior owner. long may he prosper and long may we enjoy the hoppity house.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Fantastic little B&B - very warm welcome from Gordon who also lent his driver ( thanks again!!!) We'd definitely come back to Hoppity House. BUT... sun rises at 4 am and proper curtains are really required to block the sun light!!! ( I was told it would be done shortly... so should not be a problem).Breakfast is great and flexible - in a nicely decorated room. In short, just go it's worth it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jofihman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoppity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing