We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delightful....”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #15 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful....”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed four nights at Hoppity House this month while on a golf holiday.
The B&B is smack in the middle of St. Andrew's, minutes walk from The
Old Course and all downtown amenities. The rooms are spotless;
the beds very comfortable; there is easy access to parking outside
on the street; and the breakfast highlighted by wonderful
pressed coffee. But the best part was meeting Gordon. He is a perfect
host - helpful, fun, and engaging. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cressys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
52
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently stayed at Hoppity House for 2 nights while I was attending a conference at University of St. Andrews. The location was ideal, easily within walking distance to my sessions, shopping, dining, and the beach. In fact, I could see the ocean outside our window! The place is a wonderful mix of old whimsy, charm, and modern convenience. Great updated bathroom, wonderful big, comfy bed, and easy to park right outside on the street. Gordon is a very relaxed host who makesy you feel right at home without being intrusive. The breakfast was great with a lot of choice for all tastes. I will definitely be back here if I ever return to St. Andrews. Wish we could have stayed another day.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hoppity House with my mom and sisters on a girls trip. Perfect central location to golf, attractions, restaurants and pubs. Gordon was a great host! Excellent fresh breakfast every day, very personable and the rooms, linens and accessories were all top notch and very well done! Thanks Gordon!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Hoppity.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was terrific- the best coffee I have had in a hotel anywhere!Gordon is very hospitable and helpful,and best of all he was very relaxed about having our well trained dog stay with us.
All in all,much to recommend this guest house,which is perfectly situated to enjoy everything that St Andrews has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eilidhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hoppity House is wonderfully located, the rooms are comfortable and you could not find a more hospitable innkeeper than Gordon - not to mention his outstanding culinary skills for the breakfast table.

Room Tip: There are different sizes of rooms. We had a small room and thought it might be worth the little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynmawr29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at Hoppity House - best location in that charming city. Gordon was the best innkeeper any one could ever ask for - everything was so perfect and just like a dream. The rooms were spotless as was the bathroom and the delightful breakfast. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in "the largest room" - it faced the street and was just so charming. Great blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notadvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Hoppity House has a great central location with restaurants and basically the entire town in easy walking distance. Gordon was an exemplary host. He is extremely friendly and inviting(seems like he really loves his job). Everything is spotlessly clean and breakfast was hardy and delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much we prolonged it an extra night. Upon departure Gordon helped us on our journey to our next journey and we didn't feel rushed out the door one bit. If i were to ever return to St. Andrews I would most definitely give Gordon a call.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
494 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoppity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing