We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Hoppity House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoppity House
Ranked #14 of 72 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are tourists without a real plan so we are always happy to discover such gems as we coast along. Gordon was a great host with interesting stories. The place was spotless , dining room was fancy and food excellent. Definite recommend!

Room Tip: Book early in the day to make sure you get alace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
52
52
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberfeldy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I could not fault Gordon on friendliness and helpfulness - first class. The only dog-friendly B&B in St Andrews. Only let down was poor view and the price of £85 for one twin (but then it is St Andrews. Otherwise, very good.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view of a grotty courtyard - best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Affable Gordon and his wonderful breakfast room lady,who made sure my teenage daughter was well nourished made our stay at Hoppity house very enjoyable, plus the rooms are clean and cozy and walking distance to everything, a great walking town and Taste Cafe for perfect afternoon espressos.

Room Tip: I liked my daughters room number two because it had a window that opened for fresh air.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank coloradogirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hoppity House during a recent visit to St. Andrews. Found the welcome by Gordon both friendly and informative about what to see in the town and close by. The en-suite room was well equipped with tea/coffee making facility and a small fridge. An iron and ironing board was also in the wardrobe. As we had a twin room there was a separate TV available at the foot of each bed. An excellent idea was being able to order our breakfast the night before which meant we were served promptly at the time we chose with an excellently cooked breakfast allowing us to get out and enjoy the many activities in the area without having to sit around waiting to be served breakfast.
The room was spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable with quality fresh smelling linen. All in all our stay at Hoppity House helped make our visit to St. Andrews very enjoyable and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

New Ikea- like functional furnishings. Some rooms are small; however the space is used well. Reasonable soundproofing; however everyone is in close quarters so some sound does travel. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are immaculate. There are all new fixtures in the en suite and everything works well (lots of HW and pressure). Gordon is a wonderful, frindly host and serves a delicious breakfast. A complimentary shuttle goes by the door half hourly that stops at the main golf courses. The guest house is within walking distance of the Old Course, beautiful beach, university, castle and down town. Perfect..... and free parking on the street as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

On a recent 4 day visit to St Andrews Hoppity House was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed! What a great place to stay! Gordon is a fabulous host and couldn't do enough for us. From the smart clean contemporary style (new en suite shower in our room!), fresh smelling linen and towels and the delicious and varied breakfasts to the warm friendly hospitality we felt at home from the moment we arrived. Close to the centre, in fact IN the centre of St Andrews and 5 minutes walk from the famous Royal and Ancient Golf Club and the Old Course this B&B is a precious gem! Thanks for everything Gordon... we'll be back... LOTS ! xx

Room Tip: Our room was excellent and neither of us experienced any noise or discomfort although our room looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winechictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I organised a group of 6 golfers who stayed for 3 nights in St Andrews. the location is ideal as it is only 5 minutes walk to the first tee of the Old Course. It is also on the route for the complimentary St Andrews shuttle bus which calls by Hoppity House twice hourly. The bus undertakes a circular route around the various links golf facilities.
The rooms in Hoppity House are very clean and have modern fittings and furnishings. The breakfast is excellent and includes smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Gordon, the host is very helpful and has a good knowledge of the town, its' facilities and the golf, including current offers available.
Parking is outside on the street and is free, albeit it is on a first come first served basis

Room Tip: Room 3 is a good size with a large shower, and had a double and a single bed when we stayed, plus a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,286 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hoppity House is the perfect location for golfers. We have four twin /double rooms all en-suite. Gordon is happy to help with tee time and info on local courses. Arrange transport for golf or airport pick ups. This four star Visit Scotland establishment is for the discerning guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoppity House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing