We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabuloso!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hoppity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoppity House
Ranked #12 of 77 St Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoughton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Fabuloso!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Gordon is wonderful! Hoppity House was the perfect respite from all the golfing. It is tidy, comfortable and all around pleasant. Gordon is terrific for ideas and advice in touring the surrounding areas. Very helpful and engaging.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    25
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
51
51
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Gordon the host runs a great B&B ablely assisted by the omni present Jackie, good breakfast with warm and friendly hosts. Very cosmopolitan, great for golfers and people touring the wonderful Scottish countryside.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This "guest house" (a small hotel in the UK) is informal, unpretentious and not luxurious, but it is a great place to stay for walking to the Old Course, restaurants, hotel pubs, shops, castle and cathedral ruins, the University and pretty much everything you will want to visit. We were traveling with our daughter's family, including children, and even though I searched for reservations seven months in advance, this was the only hotel or B & B I could find that had family rooms available and would take small children. Rooms are small but have everything we needed and nice (though small) newer ensuite bathrooms with showers. Breakfasts were included and had good choices for all of our group of 6. The owner was helpful and friendly. All of our group would gladly stay there again. Parking is on the street and spots can be hard to find. Note that the Old Course is a public park on Sundays, so even if you can't get a tee time, you can walk the course and take pictures.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting on the street have a nicer outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City of Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A very good B&B. Newly renovated rooms with huge comfortable beds, and spotlessly clean. Gordon the owner is so nice and really cares. Dining room also beautiful, with nice atmosphere. Location is great, close the to sea shore and to center city. We enjoyed it so much and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The larger executive room is a little more expensive, but is very similar to a five star hotel room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have just spent three days in St Andrews and stayed at Hoppity House. It was great, centrally located with great rooms and breakfast - good value for money. There is nothing anyone could complain about here. Everything nice and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudreyGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We are tourists without a real plan so we are always happy to discover such gems as we coast along. Gordon was a great host with interesting stories. The place was spotless , dining room was fancy and food excellent. Definite recommend!

Room Tip: Book early in the day to make sure you get alace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I could not fault Gordon on friendliness and helpfulness - first class. The only dog-friendly B&B in St Andrews. Only let down was poor view and the price of £85 for one twin (but then it is St Andrews. Otherwise, very good.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a view of a grotty courtyard - best avoided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Property: Hoppity House
Address: 4 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoppity House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing