We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golfers paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golfers paradise”
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Spent last weekend with 15 friends in this wonderful hotel. Owned and run by a great couple Jinty and Jim. Their warmth and hospitality make it feel like home every time I stay here (this was my 6th visit). Location is perfect - 300m from 1st Tee on the Old Course and 2 mins walk to Main St. Restaurant and bar are excellent with great staff. Looking forward to 2012 already!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    124
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
66
113
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Travelled with 15 friend to play golf in St Andrews. We were welcomed off the bus on arrival, greeted one by one and treated like royalty for the duration of our stay. The location is ideal, 5 mins to the old course in the centre of town, no taxis required here. The staff are very helpful, no request was too much. The rooms are very spacious and clean with everything you would need, especially when you get one each. The food is great with a large varied menu and the bar is better stocked than any in town. You will not find a fairer priced place to stay of this quality with the friendliest of management and staff. Our fifth year here and by no means our last.

Room Tip: They're all good, second floor quiter if that's what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Stayed here with three buddies on a week-long golf trip. Great location, with large, clean rooms - nothing fancy, but perfect for our kind of trip. Very helpful staff - they accommodated our scheduling and dietary requests for breakfast with a smile and great flexibility.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FalconTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at Greyfriars with my husband and young son, as we attended a wedding at the Old Course Hotel. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of Old Course, but at a significantly better price! It's a shame we didn't get to spend more time in the hotel, as the room was gorgeous. Really spacious, with lots of nice add ons.

The staff were lovely - really friendly and welcoming. And breakfast was fabulous. Lots of nice options, instead of just fried rubbish.

All and all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieConsani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bearsden scotland uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

stayed at greyfriars with my wife on a trip to see grandchildren who were at local caravan site.stayed in room 101 which is facing the main road and looking up greyfriars gardens.we had two sets of windows a settee,armchair and table and chair with a 32" plasma wall mounted in a very large room.a continual flow of university students some in gowns passed on their way to lectures and created a colourful and busy scene. we ate in the hotel with the grandchildren and the food was excellent and service (supplied by uni students ) was top class.hotel is part of a privately owned chain and directors and staff were more than helpful.a great choice if going to st andrews and reasonably priced.our third visit and will be back.

Room Tip: our room was excellent and have asked for it specfically-can be some noise from the street at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We got a last minute booking here on Sunday 2nd when most other places were full. We were delighted with Greyfriars - great ensuite room, friendly helpful staff, nice bar area with TV. Ideally located in centre of town. Really recommend it.
Fiona Mathews, Jane Booth

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fi_mathews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Was really excited to come and stay. Writing this from one of the rooms. £90 for a night plus £50 on dinner and spending it with my sick boyfriend who after eating dinner of mussels and monk fish has been nothing but sick! Clearly food poisoned. I had steak which I asked to be very well done and came out with a hint of pink. Very disappointed. Would not come back, what was supposed to be a lovely night away has been anything but .

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Property: Greyfriars Hotel
Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing