We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for St.Andrews”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal for St.Andrews”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here while playing golf in the area (in common with almost all the other guests !). It's a very good value pub with rooms and the staff were great. The atmosphere in the bar was friendly and you are ideally located for everything in St.Andrews. It;'s a great value B and B with free car parking on the doorstep, although I don't know what you would do if the car park was full (which at times it was). This was so much better value than other places I have stayed in St.Andrews (The Fairmont, The Old Course Hotel etc) that it will be my No.1 choice in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aluakea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    127
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
71
115
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The gentleman who checked us in was cheeky and very friendly -seemed to really enjoy his job . We were given a family room at the double rate as we had to change the date of the booking. The room was as advertised clean and in good condition. The outside appearance had me a little bit worried but internally it was up to date clean, fresh and well presented. With excellent security. Nice and close to the golf course and the main part of town. The bar food at dinner time was excellent but breakfast was only fair.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room as there was. Party going till about 1.00am in the building behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

When visiting Scotland (several times) I would strongly recommend the Greyfriars Hotel to anyone, this was much much better and a higher value than BB in the same area, very nice rooms, high standard, clean, totally worth coming back to, nice pub and "posh".
We will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here for one night in April on our tour of Scotland. When we tried to book direct by phone the harassed sounding staff member told us he was too busy so we booked online.
Reception is a point at the end of the main bar where we were met by a very pleasant lad who booked us in. A lift was a surprise but welcome and the room was a good modern sized one and clean. No complaints.
We booked our evening meal which is taken at the other end of the bar area. This was typical pub grub and nothing more but seemed overpriced unless St Andrews is like this everywhere else. There is a huge variety of beers and lagers and the staff were all welcoming and helpful.
Unfortunately, our room was below an inconsiderate guest's who began marching around his room at 4am and finally stopped at 4.20am, possibly packing for an early flight. The noise was very bad. There was also noise from the street but it was over fairly early. How much there would be on a weekend may be an issue for some.
Overall, a nice bar area with good quality rooms attached serving pub type grub in a central location just 2 minutes from the Old Course.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meek5968
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We spent a couple of days here in April so my husband could golf. It is ideally situated for the courses which are a 2 minute drive or 5 minute walk from the hotel. We arrived earlier than the check in time of 2 pm but were lucky enough to be given our room straight away. We had a double deluxe on the top floor which was spacious and had everything we needed. An extremely comfy mattress. There were only a couple of minor issues with the room - the floorboards were very squeaky a in a couple of places. We also got woken very earlier by seagulls! (not much you can do with that!). We used the restaurant for lunch and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed both. The bar area is very comfy with a great selection of beers. My husband's only complaint was that he had to get up early for golf and couldn't enjoy them all! We found the staff very welcoming and knowledgeable. The hotel is also situated extremely close to shops, bars and restaurants. All in all, I would have no hesitation in recommending Greyfriars.

Room Tip: We booked via hotel's own website which offered the best deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meek5968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Booked a superior double room and was not let down. The room was huge and very well appointed and presented. Minor negative was the sealant round the bath needs redone as it was a little grubby. It is only a few minutes walk from the busy pubs and shops.

Breakfast for a non vegetarian was very good. A veggie sausage on standby for non meat eaters wouldn't go amiss.

No need to spend a lot of money on one of St Andrews fanciest hotels this will meet all your needs for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogs74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just back from three days at St Andrews staying in Greyfriars. Good hotel in great location. I was part of a group of 14 and it was the second year in a row we stayed here.
Rooms are big and clean and the old course is less than a five minute walk away.
The staff were really helpful especially when we had early tee times.
Will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarrellR21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St Andrews
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St Andrews
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Property: Greyfriars Hotel
Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing