We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It only keeps getting better”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It only keeps getting better”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Another annual November golf trip to St Andrews and our regular stay at the Greyfriars.

Not sure what the staff can really do to welcome us any better, look after our every need and encourage us to return again next year. 16 satisfied customers yet again this year and all looking forward to returning again, same time same place, why change a good thing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    127
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
115
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Centrally located, but then St Andrews is not a big town. Bus station couple of blocks away, small multiplex movie next block, short walk to beach and castle ruins.

Check in is at one end of the bar. Friendly staff. Had room facing street - you do hear your neighbors and street noise, but was quiet after midnight on both nights stayed. Room was spacious - comfortable bed. Shortbread packet with coffee in room was a nice touch. Breakfast included with short but good selection of hot and cold items. Pub had good selection of ales. No fitness center but jogging trails nearby.

Room Tip: Away from North street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doc_joe_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Very friendly, obliging staff. Unpretentious menu cooked well (I had the rump steak which came rare as requested). Good beer (I had Devil's Advocate). And sky sports football on the telly. Not sure why it was so quiet on a Sunday evening.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Seasoned_beer_drinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

No positives to say about this eaterie. Yet another establishment turning out overpriced processed food in this part of Fife. Slow, unenthusiastic service, sticky tables and tables left uncleared although this was a very quiet time of day - late lunch time.

Now the food - the slow service meant that we only had time for one course and decided to have potato skins which were from the starter section of the menu. Well, I have never been so appalled at what was eventually served up. The description on the menu was - potato skins with bacon and cheese. I was naive enough to think that first of all the potatoes would be freshly prepared potatoes - but no - what arrived were greasy splodges which may have been potatoes at one time but not recently - certainly not prepared on the premises I am sure. The filling which I expected to be grilled bacon with grated, grilled cheese was in fact a watery cheese sauce with pale bits of bacon floating in it, lipping over the edge of each "potato" skin. I have never seen the like before.
What a disgrace - I live locally and will never be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobel1523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stopped here for a quick lunch mid week. Service was terrible - really slow even though the place was empty. Prices on the menu are an absolute rip-off, £11.95 for a frittata at lunchtime.........how ridiculous! Ended up just ordering starters. The potato skins were horrible when they arrived - instead of being topped with bacon and cheese they were swimming in a watery cheese sauce that contained tiny bits of pale ham. Drinks took an age to come and when they eventually arrived, the diet cokes we ordered were regular cokes - how can someone get that wrong when it's written down? The tables were sticky as were the menus - no real surprise. No wonder this place was empty! Will not be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xlynnbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed a few night there steve was so helpfully (think his name is steve haha) always happy and willing to help. Bar staff where happy and look like they enjoy there job. Although one girl what help out at breakfast didnt look every happy and looked like she had been out all night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drinkthebardry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Great location, we walked everywhere. To the golf course, where we played the putting course. St Andrews Cathedral and St Andrews Castle, very interesting sights to see. We walked around the town, and the university. We eat here as well, and the food is good. The rooms are modern, clean, and ample in size. Parking was easy, as we made several trips to the coastal towns back and forth.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St Andrews
3,058 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 16 in St Andrews
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St Andrews
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St Andrews
1,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St Andrews
358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 16 in St Andrews
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Property: Greyfriars Hotel
Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing