We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay!”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I agree with most of the other reviewers. The room was clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom had a heated towel rack which is especially handy for drying hand-washed laundry while traveling. Yes, the TV was small but I didn't go to St Andrews to watch TV. The parking problem is not unique to this hotel but is true for all the hotels (except for the hugely expensive ones) in the town of St Andrews. The Greyfriars is better situated than most for being right next to one of only a few free car parks in town. I was able to find a space when I needed one, but the staff was very helpful in giving information on other free parking options within short walking distance. I thought the breakfasts were great and the waitstaff were friendly and efficient. The only real problem I had was that the Internet service was down the entire time of my visit but enough other places had free WIFI that I was able to cope. For a moderately priced hotel in a great location, Greyfriars is an unbeatable choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

I have stayed here in the past as it is very central for my business at the university. The location is excellent but parking is a problem. I was fortunate in finding a spot right away but the seagulls certainly left their mark!! (not the hotels fault of course and a member of staff was very kind in providing some cleaning material)
Room spacious and clean, good wifi facilities but the big disappointment was the breakfast, I opted for cooked and it was served up on a small plate with the toast piled on top, bacon very undercooked (should have asked for it to be crispy, so possibly my fault). Just unappealing and tasteless.

Room Tip: Side room fairly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floyd32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent central location with everything you need in a hotel/ Large modern rooms with good restaurant downstairs.. Breakfast was good as well. Jinty on reception was extremely friendly and helpful in particular and all staff were friendly especially to our toddler. Would stay here again if returning to St Andrews.
Only downside was car park (free ) next to the hotel was not that easy to get a space in and the showers could do with modernising (bathroom itself was fine).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireJohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel and it certainly won't be our last. An excellent location near the centre and easy access to wonderful walks along the coast and the R & A. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful on your arrival with spacious well appointed rooms awaiting you. The menu may not be the largest but has a choice suitable for every taste and all ingredients are top quality, superbly cooked and presented. Their selection of beers from around the world is hugely impressive and varied, a testament to some serious research in this field.
Overall this hotel ticks 99% of the boxes.
Really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ro28577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed in Greyfriars Friday 12th to Monday 15th April 2013 for a week-end break. Great location and lovely spacious room 319. St Andrews is never disappointing.

The young staff very polite; professional; professional and welcoming, a lesson the bar manager could learn as the one hic up on our whole break was his disappointing manner. Would not serve us food are arriving late on Friday evening yet served a couple who booked in after us, and gets extremely stressed if you dare sit on a seat at the bar area or even the tables next to the bar that could "cause a bottleneck". He may have a valid point but does not have a nice way in asking people to move their seat. My review would have been 5 had it not been for the bar manager !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I am a carer for an older man with learning difficulties and this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. All the staff were friendly/helpful and made us feel very welcome at all times, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the family room (215) which had a kingsize bed, 2 single beds, a shower/bath and most importantly for us a separate wet floor shower area. The room is large, faces onto the back of the hotel and it was comfortable and very clean. The bar at night is very busy and has a great lively atmosphere, but once we were settled in our room for the night we did not hear a thing. A fantastic breakfast each morning and the selections were excellent. Thank you very much for a great stay and we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Enjoyed a super meal here recently. We were a party of 5 and everybody was pleased with their meal choices, even hubby who opted for the chilli and finally found that after being described as 'hot', it actually was, very rare in his opinion. The service was excellent, all staff were attentive. We asked for a different table initially but they weren't at all phased by this and were more than happy to move us. Very pleasant atmosphere, the segregation of the bar and restaurant means that the tv sports coverage doesn't drown out conversations in the dining area. Large and small portions are available for a selection of courses, I went for small as I remember from another occasion that small is still quite a hefty portion. The rump steak was mouthwateringly tender! Look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
692 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St Andrews
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £82 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing