We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch at Greyfriars Hotel”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I had lunch here during our stay in St. Andrews. They had a wide range of beers available (though most were from outside of Scotland) and a good menu selection. The highlight was being able to choose between small and large portion sizes for the meals. This allowed us to eat what we each wanted without walking away feeling stuffed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Greyfriars Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

This is a nice pub/hotel in St Andrews. It offers a great range of beers and wines at realistic prices. The staff are friendly and the place feels cared for and well maintained. The range of world beers are most impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LusakaLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great friendly service and excellent reasonably priced food.I love this hotel the staff are lovely really can't fault the place.St Andrews hotels are often overpriced so if you are looking for value for money you won't be disappointed with Greyfriers

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Greyfriar's for 5 nights with a group of 8 guys on a golf trip last month. This hotel, has it all. Great Service, Great friendly staff. Clean rooms that are very comfortable. Great breakfast , and fabulous food. Not to mention a bar that never closes for hotel guests with every beer known to mankind being offered in either draft or bottle. Wide selection of scotches too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent some time in this bar over the summer, staff are very friendly and accommodating. They have one of the biggest ranges of bottled and draught beers I have seen, probably representing over 40 countries.

For a great sharer try the chilli nachos! (huge, will feed 2 very hungry people or around 3-4 normal!) comes loaded with all the extras. At £7 it's probably a £1 above average but well worth it and cheaper than the average burger in St. Andrews

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank east_fife1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Went for a meal after a day out in st.andrews. Very good food, although the cheesecake was a bit dry.

Good service. The place was quite busy but we were served promptly. Also we never felt we were being rushed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank AlanG1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked this hotel for a one-night stay in August 2013, during the Women's British Open Golf. It was extremely reasonably priced, especially when compared with other hotels in town, some of which seemed to have inflated their prices to take advantage of those wishing to watch the golf!

The location was ideal (a short walk from the first tee / 18th green on the Old Course), and the rooms were much larger than I had expected for rooms above a pub. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, with all the facilities we needed (air conditioning, free wifi, a large bathroom etc).

We ate in the hotel on the Sunday evening and the food was great - lots of choice on the menu, and very reasonably priced. The guy running the bar was incredibly friendly and helpful (as were all of the staff we encountered during our stay), and made us feel right at home!

I don't think I would consider anywhere else for my next trip to St Andrews!

Room Tip: We had a third floor room. It was very large (with a sitting area with a sofa), and great views ove...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S3CPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing