We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fabulous stay”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another fabulous stay”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Once again a superb reception, lovely cosy room with everything you could need. Staff very helpful. Bar very well stocked for those keen on a tipple. Good food and service. Delicious breakfast selection to set up you're day. Very central in St Andrews where you can have a coastal walk or trawl the varied shops. A 5 minute walk to the old course for the golfing fans. Jinty and the team know how to deliver excellent customer service. We will be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    127
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
67
114
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

When I write this review, I haven't check out yet. It shows that how much I want to give credit to the hotel staff for a job well done during my 7 days stay here. The main thing for the team here is that they serve you from the bottom of their heart whether they are from the reception , house keeping or the kitchen. They treat you as you are their family members. They offer their assistance in all situation whether it is in the wee hour of the morning or even late into the night.
The team is so detail that they prearranged thing in advance. They are ever so ready for us and my family. Special mention has to give to ms. Jinty. She is one of the most helpful persons I ever met. The weather in st Andrews now is cold but our heart is warm because of the wonderful team of this hotel. Will definite come back to this hotel again in my next visit. Review by sim, Malaysia

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank simykiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Firstly a Big thanks to Jinty, who gave us an early checkin (1230) and was extremely friendly and hospitable throughout our stay, really made us feel welcome and at home. I would also like to thank Steve for, without fear of contradiction the best Scottish breakfast i have ever had, he was actually finished for the day, but insisted on taking his jacket back off and cooking our fantastic breakfast. I cant speak highly enough of both Jinty and Steve, a huge thanks again and hope to see you both very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

My husband, father-in-law and I stayed here for 1 night in January. It is very conveniently located, and they were very friendly- especially at reception and the bar. We didn't eat here for dinner. Overall I was very happy with the room, bed, shower and location.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank KeiraNandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Found this lovely little hotel at quite late notice for new year. We travelled as a young couple and were really happy to stay here and would again. Our room was huge and very clean and all we could have asked for. Location is central and good access for everything, parking can be difficult however just all by luck. Staff were friendly and v helpful, the only downside was waiting 45 minutes for breakfast on new years day but was large and very good. Would stay here again for sure

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one as we did as above a pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of times now as it's in a great location. Rooms have been perfect both times, warm and cosy. The bars heaving by night time, enjoyed having a drink in it before heading to the room. Id recommend going to hams hame pub round the corner for something to eat, probably for breakfast and a nice cup of tea or coffee as the hotels is pretty bogging. Would still go back though!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona_tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLACKWELL, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I loved this hotel, my room and the environment. Standards are exceptional. Food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. My Sunday morning porridge on 1 December was a dream! Staff were always very friendly and polite. The hotel bar has a vibrant atmosphere but is never overpowering. The background music played is varied, carefully selected and of a modern and stimulating kind.

Room Tip: Rooms on the highest floor give you great views of the architecture and of surrounding countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Property: Greyfriars Hotel
Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing