We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, delicious and huge breakfast”
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in St Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The best things in this hotel are its really large rooms - very, very large! - and its breakfast, simply DELICIOUS and... huge :) I advise to select the Scottish breakfast at least once. I would disagree with Brandon's review as the service is really friendly (as everything in this little town). As I now work in St Andrews I had occasional lunches at Greyfriars with visiting friends and they thought they were great! The hotel is located in the heart of the town - however note St Andrews is VERY SMALL, so location does not really matter as much as everything is handy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just spent four nights at this hotel and I was truly sorry to leave. From the minute I walked in and got a warm greeting from the innkeepers, I felt like it was my home away from home in St. Andrews. It's charming, clean, and the food in the restaurant is fantastic. (I would rate it as the best breakfast I had in all of Scotland!) Greyfriars is conveniently located in the heart of town, so an easy walk to the Castle and Cathedral ruins and shopping. And if you're playing golf, it's just two blocks to the first tee at the Old Course. so you can walk there. Best of all, there was a free parking lot right next door, so easy parking every day. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Super friendly, super value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlost57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for a visit to the university , very pleasant welcome on arrival , large family room, which was great for our visit. Breakfast was good. Staff very friendly albeit very busy. Great location for our purpose , managed to park our car near by and then we were able to walk everywhere we needed to be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Was visiting a friend in St Andrews a month ago. Went to the restaurant here seeking a halfway decent meal. I'd have done better to drink from the Scottish sewers. The food was bland, lacked flavor, and was clearly reheated from a previous day (or who knows, maybe even month). The waitress glared at us the entire stay, made snide homophobic remarks, told us we were not welcome to return, and overcharged us. Management was nowhere to be found. I was expecting better service in a nice, cozy, college town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed the night at this hotel at the end of January. The bedroom was lovely, and good value for money.the only downside to it was that everything squeeked. The floorboards, the chair, the bed,even the toilet. They really need to do something about the floorboards. Breakfast was very good, and the staff, very nice.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel,so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jfrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Once again a superb reception, lovely cosy room with everything you could need. Staff very helpful. Bar very well stocked for those keen on a tipple. Good food and service. Delicious breakfast selection to set up you're day. Very central in St Andrews where you can have a coastal walk or trawl the varied shops. A 5 minute walk to the old course for the golfing fans. Jinty and the team know how to deliver excellent customer service. We will be back

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

When I write this review, I haven't check out yet. It shows that how much I want to give credit to the hotel staff for a job well done during my 7 days stay here. The main thing for the team here is that they serve you from the bottom of their heart whether they are from the reception , house keeping or the kitchen. They treat you as you are their family members. They offer their assistance in all situation whether it is in the wee hour of the morning or even late into the night.
The team is so detail that they prearranged thing in advance. They are ever so ready for us and my family. Special mention has to give to ms. Jinty. She is one of the most helpful persons I ever met. The weather in st Andrews now is cold but our heart is warm because of the wonderful team of this hotel. Will definite come back to this hotel again in my next visit. Review by sim, Malaysia

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank simykiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St Andrews
687 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St Andrews
3,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St Andrews
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St Andrews
1,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St Andrews
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Address: 129 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Price Range: £85 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is based on North Street in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the a large range of Cask Ales and Bottled Beers from around the world and a large selection of Malt Whisky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing