We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Dolls House Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 147 Restaurants in St Andrews
Price range: US$6 - US$90
Cuisines: European, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Doll's House is one of St Andrew's most recognisable spots to eat & drink- 2015 sees the restaurant celebrate its 20th anniversary. Specialising in hearty "good mood food", The Doll's House offers a diverse range of quality offers- from weekend brunch to value market menu dining. As well as an abundance of fresh scones and pastries, the main menu is packed full of lighter bites like big bowl salads and shellfish specials, along with a hearty mix of casseroles and roasts. We like to think there are some nice little touches too, like the "Eden Brewery Beer Battered Fish", and a new signature piece- a scrummy and slightly indulgent afternoon tea for two. Those joining us at The Dolls House for Sunday Roast every week can feel good about the splurge- we will donate 50p from the sale of each roast to Families First- a local charity based in the area. On the drinks list, you'll find a wonderful selection of gins to suit every palate, complimented by a range of carefully selected fresh garnishes and premium tonics. If you are looking for a spot of something sweeter, the Liquid Dessert range is exactly what it sounds like- a small but perfectly formed collection of cocktails that taste like their pudding namesake. Upstairs in the Eden Mill Private Dining Room, we can cater for cosy dinner parties and celebrations for groups of up to 12.
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely food in a nice relaxed atmosphere. Good selection of choices on the menu and beautifully cooked. Not too expensive either.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear guest

The team and I greatly appreciate the kind comments in your review. It is great to hear that the atmosphere, wide menu choice, food and value were all enjoyed. We work very hard as a team to consider the whole dining experience so that our customers can relax and enjoy.

We hope you will visit us again soon

Kind Regards

Lynn Couttie
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    386
    198
    98
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Proper restaurant in St Andrews”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

One of the proper restaurants in St Andrews. You will be pretty much guaranteed a good meal here prepared freshly by chefs,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JinxAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very happy to hear that you hold our restaurant in such high regard and recognise that each dish is made fresh to order with quality, local produce. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Lynn Couttie
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Visited The Dolls House with 3 friends on 10th July while visiting st Andrews for a girly day out. We all had a 2 course lunch costing only £7.95 each, which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The restaurant was extremely busy but this did not reflect on the excellent service from staff!!! It was a scorching hot day and there are tables outside which were all full, but it was a welcome break from the sun to be seated upstairs. We will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest

The team and I are very pleased that your girly day out at The Doll's House was greatly enjoyed. The two course lunch menu priced at £7.95 is a brilliant excuse for a catch up with friends and family! We greatly appreciate your kind comments regarding the food, value and service. We sincerely hope you will return for a visit soon.

Kind Regards

Lynn Couttie
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“THE SCOTTISH GLOBETROTTERS”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What has happened to The Doll's House ? We eat here regularly and booked a table for lunch for yesterday. What attracts us to this restaurant is it's good quality food at very reasonable prices. The lunch menu is only £7.95 for two course and we have always found it to deliver on great value for money with adequate portions to suit most appetites. Yesterday however did not deliver. The menu looked good and my wife and I started with the warm mushroom parmesan and herb fritatta which was very nice. The big disappointment came with the main course, Beef bourguignon with garlic and parsley mash. Up until now the main dish has always been accompanied with a separate plate of potatoes and vegetables but now they are serving the main dish WITHOUT vegetables. Neither of us are fond of mashed potatoes and when we asked if this could be replaced with new potatoes we were told no, even when new potatoes were being served with another item on the menu. We were offered chips which were a supplement of £2.25. My wife opted for the chips while I stuck with the mash. When the plates arrived my wife had a bowl of beef stew and nothing else. No vegetables to be seen only this side dish of chips. I fared no better, no veg and a lump of luke warm mash. If this is their way of making a profit and keeping prices down then they should think again. I would rather pay a little bit more to get some vegetables with my meal.
Overall a very disappointing lunch and we will think long and hard before returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest

I am sorry to hear that a recent visit to The Doll's House did not live up to expectation. As you say, the lunch menu is excellent value and the price has only increased by £1 in 15 years. Let me address your main concern regarding the vegetables on the side. This has been substituted for individual vegetable accompaniements for each dish. This allows the chefs to choose options that best suit each option. With the case of the beef bourguignon, it is served with a substantial amount of herb mash and a number of vegetables within the stew. I apologise that you were not informed of this. We are more than happy to provide a side order of vegetables on request. I hope this answers concerns about the vegetables and will not deter you from visiting us again.


Kind Regards

Lynn Couttie
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchtermuchty, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked dinner for four on a busy and beautiful sunny evening in St Andrews. The restaurant was busy and the staff worked hard to keep customers happy however still felt that overall service was slow. It took fifteen minutes to catch the attention of a waitress to ask for the bill!
The menu was a bit limited and as previously mentioned dominated by fish dishes - would have been nice to see a chicken dish. The food we did order was well cooked and nicely presented and very tasty. The dessert menu was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn C, Manager at Dolls House Restaurant, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for complimenting the presentation of the food, its tastiness and the dessert menu. At present, we offer chicken on both the lunch and early evening menus. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the menu was limited to mostly fish. The dinner a la carte menu currently offers only two fish dishes- salmon and hake. Other options include: veal, steak, pork, polenta, vegetarian curry and the daily specials. All menus change monthly as we try our best to cater to a wide range of tastes. I apologise that you were kept waiting for the bill and felt service was slow on this busy ocassion. I am certain that we can improve upon this for your next visit.

Kind Regards

Lynn Couttie
Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolls House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dolls House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing