We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Summit Lodge

front of lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of lodge
from the balcony drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
front of lodge
from the balcony
drive
view to St Andrews
lounge with stove
lounge/diner
diner/lounge
lounge/diner/kitchen
kitchen
covered deck/BBQ area
back of lodge
master bedroom
master/en suite
en-suite shower room
twin one
twin two
family bathroom with separate shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon F
1 review
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The Summit Lodge is in an outstanding location on the outskirts of St. Andrews
We spent a week at the lodge which began with a family wedding at The Old Course Hotel. There was three generations of family staying and there is something to suit everyone from grandparents to grandchildren, weather it be sitting reading on the balconies enjoying the sun, wildlife and views, golfing, walking through the forest to reach the summit enjoying the 360 degree view, to various sight seeing trips eg Anstruther, Crail, The Secret Bunker to name but a few. The lodge is well equipped a real home from home (a information booklet to explain WiFi, appliance instructions and where to empty bins would have been useful) otherwise we cannot recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmcgav
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 23 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a great stay at Summit Lodge over a gloriously sunny weekend in May. It's in a lovely countryside location, but still close to St Andrews.

The accommodation and decor is new, clean and modern. The kitchen is well equipped for self-catering, plus a charcoal BBQ. There are 3 bathrooms which was perfect for our family group.

The views from the balcony are amazing, and it was also lovely to sit at the seating area at the back of the house.

There are 2 other lodges next door, but we still enjoyed the feeling of rural isolation.

I'd recommend Summit Lodge for families with kids - there is a stair gate, the pond is gated, there are games in the house plus lots of sports equipment and toys to play with in the field at the back of the house. Lots to explore in the forrest. Plus washing machine and tumble dryer if you need it.

Very handy for driving into St Andrews. Also near to Eden Mill distillery for tasting (or buying) their gin and beer. I'd recommend Balgove Larder farm shop/cafe nearby for a nice lunch.

Top tip for directions to the lodge: turn left after the red phone box on School Rd, then left again when you see an old tractor.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela04
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class accommodation - outstanding views!”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this lodge for a group weekend away (3 x couples) after researching accommodation available within driving distance of St Andrews. All the arrangements prior to arrival were sent promptly and were very helpful. Moira was there to greet us and we felt so welcomed and were made to feel no request was too much trouble. The lodge (one of 3) sits on an elevated position with views you just can't buy. We all enjoyed spending time on the balcony as well as out on the back porch area. The lodge has been built and finished to a very high standard, spotlessly clean with every kitchen utensil needed. The WiFi, smart TV and wood burner all contributed to an excellent stress free weekend away. I also managed to book a mobile spa therapist to come to the lodge while the guys went golfing, so us ladies could enjoy facials and massages without even leaving the lodge. Sheer bliss. Will sure to be back when ever we are up in this area of Fife again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheana S
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent home from home holiday house”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This is our 5th stay at The Summit which speaks volume. The house is to an excellent standard and ideal for large family. The accommodation is very clean and everything you need is there. Moria and Bob are first class hosts. The house is very close to Dundee, St Andrews and the central belt which makes it the perfect location for exploring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sheen...
1 review
“Wonderful lodge in a great location”
Reviewed 11 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The lodge was very well equipped, clean and a lot of care & attention has obviously been provided by the owners to give their customers a first class accommodation. The views were outstanding, the location good for visiting local sights and would highly recommend this lodge to anyone wishing to visit East Fife.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickey898
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 11 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have just returned from a weekend stay and can't speak highly enough of both the propety and the owner. We were meant to stay the previous weekend but due to the snow warnings and subsequent snowfall we could not go. Moira, the owner very kindly offered the following weekend. We were met upon arrival and shown around. The house is modern, spacious and very well equipped. We were a family of 5 and had plenty of space. The views are lovely and St Andrews is within easy reach. Moira had even left us a bottle of prosecco and a cake as she knew we were celebrating my mum's 70th birthday. We would love to stay again and will definitely recommend to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen C
2 reviews
“Summit Lodge is 5 STAR”
Reviewed 22 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What a beautiful and well appointed house. Spectacular views, complete privacy and yet less than 10 minutes to the heart of St Andrews. Moira is an excellent host and was more than accomodating. We plan to return and have already recommended the Lodge to family and friends. A big thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing