We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding from start to finish.”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Aerial image of Hawkswood House and The Roundel your very own private short game area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Exterior
Aerial image of Hawkswood House and The Roundel
your very own private short game area
Six pin short game golf area
Prviate driving range for our guests
BBQ patio
BBQ patio
First floor balcony for al fresco dining
43 state of the art jet hydro spa
Hydro Spa
Mini coach for our guests
Open plan dining
Luxurious top of the range kitchen
Modern kitchen
Light and airy kitchen
Scottish dining
Open plan dining
Special occasions
Conservatory
Conservatory
Conservatory
Ground floor lounge with log burner
Views out to the grounds
Ground floor lounge
First floor lounge with views out to the decking
First floor lounge
First floor lounge with log burner
Wifi throughout
Desk on first floor landing
Superking bedroom en-suite with option to be twin
Superking Master bedroom en-suite with walk in closet and option to twin
1st floor Superking master bedroom en-suite king with option to twin
Superking bedroom en-suite with option to twin
King bedroom en suite
Spa bathroom
Spa bathroom
En suite shower
En suite shower room
En suite shower room
Fluffy bathrobes
An array of golf courses on our doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
204hazel
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding from start to finish.”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in Hawkswood House for our daughter's wedding at Kinkell Byre. Since she wasn't being married near our home we wanted a base for the Bridal party. Mary-Jo was a joy to work with and did many gestures which were way above what we expected. - Driving and collecting us from St. Andrews for a family evening meal and even driving the Bridesmaids to the wedding venue. It couldn't have worked out better. The accomodation even surpassed the lovely photographs. We had 10 people staying in the 5 ensuite rooms and it was extremely spacious . The hot-tub , golf course and outdoor BBQ were definite highlights ! The magnificent conservatory was the ideal "morning of the wedding " room where all five bridesmaids , Bride and Bride's mum could have their hair and make-up done in loads of space and good natural light . We had a lunch party for 40 the day after the wedding and it was the perfect party venue with a golf competition for entertainment!
I could go on and on about this very special place - if you want 5 star accomodation with 5 star service , privacy and space for a group to be together but also thoroughly relax - this is for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind comments and review. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melinda P
Panama City, Panama
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing in every way!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The house was even better than in the pictures. We had a great time. Stayed for 4 nights and wished we had booked it for longer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 star property -absolutely amazing house”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a fantastic stay at Hawkswood House for my husbands special birthday . My first impression in one word - WOW . The house is amazing from start to finish with wonderful facilities . Everyone in our party agreed and we all can't wait to return . The house was spotless and Mary Jo has thought about every little detail . It is set in stunning grounds with wonderful outdoor facilities.

It is a large property that can fit 10 easily and there are so many public rooms and wonderful facilities . There is something for everyone and also excellent outside facilities - the short game golf area and hot tub were two of our parties favourites and were put to good use .

There is plenty of room for you all to spread out if you wish , Sky packages in the conservatory and living room which means no need to argue over kids tv , husbands tv etc . Also the docking stations came in handy .

The bedrooms are fantastic and stunning with the comfiest beds ,luxury bedding ,stunning en suites and beautiful complimentary toiletries available .

There is also a 16 seater bus available to take you to St Andrews with great service from John .

It's hard to describe just how perfect Hawkswood House is but we are glad we found it and look forward to our next visit .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you all back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne W
Clover, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous house, setting, & services!”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

At first we thought HH was too far from town. Then we discovered true service with a van drop-off & pick-up service. HH far exceeded our experiences staying at luxury hotels in St Andrews. We could not have had a more comfortable, spacious, convenient, beautiful place for our family retreat to Scotland. From 7 to 82--all members of the family were delighted with every aspect of our stay here. Thanks, Mary-Jo & John, for seeing to our every need! We look forward to a return trip & are telling our friends about our amazing visit there!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2016
Thank you Diane and family and we hope to welcome you all back to Hawkswood House or the Roundel very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoBananaW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING LUXURY ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I booked for 19 of my friends and family to stay for two nights in the Hawkswood and Roundel for my sisters hen night. The two houses were out of this world stunning! Each house has fabulous 5 bedrooms with ensuites in each and majority of rooms having amazing walk in wardrobes/dressing rooms. Maryjo (director) has literally thought of everything down to the very last detail to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

We received a welcome hamper in each house, champagne, robes, slippers, towels for the hot tubs and white company toiletries in each of the bathrooms. The houses have docking/sound systems and sky tv.

You can also book to use the houses private bus hire which seats upto 16 (a think) to go to and from the houses to St Andrews which is very handy and very reasonable!!

We as a large party made use of both houses and all the space having huge kitchens and dinning areas which seat upto 20 with double dishwashers in each kitchen which made our lives simple.
We had so much space to relax in with upto 2/3 living areas in each house. Also because we all had our own rooms and bathrooms there is plenty of privacy so you aren't living On top of one another!

There is also a hot tub in each house we made plenty of use in. A putting green and land we used the most of for a bit of sports day fun!

Everyone who attended the hen weekend couldn't fault the accommodation in the slightest! We just wished we had booked for longer!!

The full party is planning for returns with family and friends!! Myself and my family are planning on making a new year stay if possible (need to check availability). Absolutely perfect for family and friends I am recommending these venues to everyone I meet!!

This is the highest standard accommodation I have ever stayed in and I cannot wait to come back!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back with 10% discount for repeat guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue H
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb !”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were absolutely thrilled when we arrived at Hawkswood House. It is such a beautiful
house and the interior just blew us away , could have stayed forever.
A lovely touch with the personal slippers at the front door, fluffy dressing gowns and towels at the Spa and everything to make our stay perfect.

Hawkswood House is located not far from beautiful St Andrews, lovely beaches, great shops and lots of golf courses to choose from.
This is a truly special place to stay !

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The luxurious bedrooms
Liked least: I can honestly say everything was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“OUTSTANDING!”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My family and I stayed at Hawkswood House 22nd-25h April and we didn't want to leave! The house and grounds are stunning from the moment you arrive. Every little attention to detail is perfect down to the slippers at the front door when you arrive, to the bathrobes and towels all ready for the hydro spa to relax and chill. The décor of the house itself is breath-taking and the house is equipped with everything you require for the stay and more!

The house is only a short journey away from the beautiful St. Andrews which has something for everyone - shops, bars, restaurants, museums, beaches and lots more!

I 110% recommend a visit and stay at this stunning property, we are planning our next stay already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every little attention to detail was perfect.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Charlotte
Thank you for your lovely review and hope we can welcome you back again very soon perhaps to our sister property, The Roundel.
Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing