We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Aerial image of Hawkswood House and The Roundel your very own private short game area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Exterior
Aerial image of Hawkswood House and The Roundel
your very own private short game area
Six pin short game golf area
Prviate driving range for our guests
BBQ patio
BBQ patio
First floor balcony for al fresco dining
43 state of the art jet hydro spa
Hydro Spa
Mini coach for our guests
Open plan dining
Luxurious top of the range kitchen
Modern kitchen
Light and airy kitchen
Scottish dining
Open plan dining
Special occasions
Conservatory
Conservatory
Conservatory
Ground floor lounge with log burner
Views out to the grounds
Ground floor lounge
First floor lounge with views out to the decking
First floor lounge
First floor lounge with log burner
Wifi throughout
Desk on first floor landing
Superking bedroom en-suite with option to be twin
Superking Master bedroom en-suite with walk in closet and option to twin
1st floor Superking master bedroom en-suite king with option to twin
Superking bedroom en-suite with option to twin
King bedroom en suite
Spa bathroom
Spa bathroom
En suite shower
En suite shower room
En suite shower room
Fluffy bathrobes
An array of golf courses on our doorstep
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BYGaynor
2 reviews
“AMAZING Experience”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This is a truly magnificent property with all the luxury you could wish for. From arrival all the way through we were made to feel so comfortable and welcome...a true family experience! Mary-Jo was exceptional on the booking/admin side while John was a complete HOOT on our bus ride into St Andrews for our night out! I would thoroughly recommend this for any group: family, friends, colleagues, hen or stag doo's! Can't wait to book again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and we very much appreciate you left the Houses immaculate and also looked after the hot tubs. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mary-Jo and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DollingCl...
1 review
“A break to remember”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A perfect gathering place for friends in a beautiful setting. The house was designed and furnished impecably, each bedroom having its own character and the living areas perfectly suited for relaxing and socialising. Our hosts were welcoming and extremely hospitable. Everything in this house was 5 star quality and we wouldn't hesitate to return, given the opportunity. We can recommend it thoroughly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and delighted to have you all stay at Hawkswood House. The family hope we can welcome you all back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwyero
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Group”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Just back from an absolutely amazing weekend at Hawkswood House in Peat Inn near St Andrews. From the moment we arrived, we could not believe our luck in having found such a beautiful place to stay. To be met by the lovely Christmas tree in the biggest conservatory I've ever seen to the biggest Hydro Spa (too good to be merely a hot tub) this place did not disappoint! Rooms and decor are amazing but it is the lovely people who own it that make it extra special. The attention to detail from Mary- Jo and the kindness of John, for whom nothing was too much trouble, even running us into town and picking us back up, to the lovely Ailsa (St Bernard)...all fabulous!! Already booked for next visit!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind review and for leaving the property in such immaculate condition on departure. We are delighted you are booked again for next year and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annegowan...
Broxburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent a wonderful relaxing 3 days at Hawkswood House with a group of friends . We have been going away as a group for 19 years and this is the best accomodation we have experienced. There was nothing more we could have asked for. The accomodation is so luxuriously appointed and Mary Jo has thought of everything right down to providing slippers for wearing indoors and towels and robes for going out to the hydro-spa. The addition of the small pitch and put course with bunkers was a welcome addition to the accomodation. Mary Jo and her dad John are so friendly, welcoming and informative. The courtesy coach is an excellent idea and allowed us to have a few tipples in the evening without the worry of not driving in the morning . We will definitely return if we can. Would recommend Hawkswood without reservation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eslainy
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous large amazing house”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Just returned from a wonderful family 4 night stay at Hawkswood.
From the moment we arrived and saw slippers and champagne waiting for us we knew this was somewhere special. Such a beautiful large spacious house with luxurious design throughout. The hot tub was used daily and soothed and relaxed us all. The log fires burning in the cold evening added extra warmth and charm.
Mary-Jo and John were available to assist and help at anytime, excellent service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review and hope we can welcome you back again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh W
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sublime Accommodation in a Beautiful Part of the World”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked Hawkswood House for 3 days to accommodate our family for our daughter's wedding being held at Kinkell Byre. Mary-Jo and her team did their utmost to make everything perfect for our daughter's big day. The house was immaculate and has all the facilities you could wish for. We will definitely be back.(May even venture into the hot-tub next time.) We threw a recovery day for our guests on the Sunday, the day after the ceremony and were inundated with family and friends. Hawkswood House has more than adequate living space which easily accommodated the influx. I've already recommended Hawkswood and the Roundel to friends for birthday celebrations, special events etc. Great location but GPS may advise you that you have arrived at destination just after you leave Peat Inn. (Drive a further half mile up road and property/ (ies) is/are on left hand side.) Looking forward to going back and relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall finish, facilities and attention to detail.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
We look forward to welcoming you all back very soon and thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogan W
1 review
“Only place to stay in St. Andrews”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Myself, wife and four other family members booked Hawkswood for a three day stay in Scotland. The itinerary was golf and sight seeing; everything exceeded our expectations. The home was clean, convenient, and absolutely everything we expected and more. Furthermore, the staff who services the home is beyond hospitable and truly take care of your every need, including printing out needed documentation that you forgot to take care of beforehand. You will not go wrong staying at the facility, it might be the bst travel decision I've ever made.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing