We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded our expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
City Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #747 of 2,387 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: US$14 - US$34
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Anderston
Description: Enjoy freshly prepared, made-to-order food in City Café Bar & Grill and take in the stunning views of the River Clyde through floor-to-ceiling windows. City Café Bar & Grill offers a fantastic casual dining experience. Guests can choose to dine indoors or alfresco on the stunning outdoor terrace space. Due to our location beside the SECC, demand can be high and booking a table in advance is strongly recommended.
Glenrothes, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We would very much recommend eating here before attending a concert at the Hydro or Clyde Auditorium. The food was very tasty - well cooked and presented. Service was friendly and efficient. Prices looked a little expensive at first, but the quality of the food meant we felt we got value for money. Only downside was that the tables were a little too close together.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    29
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are having lunch in Glasgow , as we had , there are some very good reasons to dine here . The food is very good , the location is second to none if the weather is sunny ( as can be seen from my attached picture ) we sat outside right on the river , and the service is excellent . I had one or two small quibbles which on hindsight didn`t exactly ruin our day . The hotel seems to regularly have special offers on those marketing sites you get bombarded with , but if you are not there " on a deal " the food is significantly dearer than most places for fish and chips etc . Nevertheless , it is brilliant for hassell free parking , and you can stay for 3 hours for free if using the hotel facilities ( put your ticket in the machine at the reception before trying to leave , no signs to tell you this in the car park ) so that goes some way to balancing the steeper prices

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at City Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Kenny M

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and found the quality of food and service to be excellent.

I am sorry for the confusion with car parking, when you stay less than 3 hours there is no need to go to reception, the ticket issued on arrival will open the exit barrier.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon…

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fab food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We ate here before a restaurant at the new Hydro and had a very enjoyable experience. The food was delicious and piping hot, although the service was a little slow, however the restaurant was very busy with concert goers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mosouthbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at City Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear mosouthbarr

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal before attending an event at the Hydro.

All of our food is freshly made to order and your patience is appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at this modern restaurant part of Hilton Garden Inn at Finnieston. Reasonable choice set menu with added cost for choices such as steaks. We went for soups, halibut and salmon for starters and all were very good. Three of our main courses were described as burgers but were much more. My lamb shank on a bed of barley risotto was excellent. Very good value, good food and staff were very helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryMotherwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at City Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear GerryMotherwell

Thank you for your review.

Our burgers are proving very popular with our ‘Titan Burger’ being photographed by several guest, one of which is posted on this website!

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Usual vegetarian disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very poor vegetarian meal. A vegetarian burger which was a roll with a cooked mushroom and some couscous with lettuce. Strange combination and no actual burger. Didn't work at all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patsyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowOpsManager, Manager at City Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Patsyg21

Thank you for your review.

We have recently refreshed our menus for the summer and have increased the number of choices available for vegetarians.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing