We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Guy's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #80 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Centre
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I went for an early dinner the last day of the Commonwealth games. We had the reservation at 4 and even though the restaurant was busy there were still many tables available. Then as soon as we had a seat, we realised that there was a huge problem with the management of the restaurant. The waiter gave us the menu but never took our drink order. After 10 minutes he came back to take our order and realized that we didn´t have any drink. They run out of the house lager and cider (both bottles and draft).
The starters came after 10 or 15 minutes which is reasonable, and the main after another 15 minutes since they clear our table. We finished our drinks and no one asked us if we needed anything else, we were lucky to have a bottle of water on the table. The big problem came when we finished our main course....we were literally half an hour waiting to someone to clear the table. We asked for the dessert menu and we were waiting 10 minutes for it. It took another 15 minutes for the waiter to came back and take the order. By then, we decided not to waste more time there, so we asked for the bill without having desserts or coffee.
We never got an apologize during the whole dinner, we were just completely ignored. I won´t come back and won´t recommend it to any of my friends.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    312
    110
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We ate here with friends for lunch. We were met by friendly staff who were attentive and helped out with the menu preferences. We had cauliflower soup to start and to follow we had black pudding and pasta. The food was nicely presented and tasty. Although the waiting staff were attentive we waited a little while for the food to arrive. This was fine for us as we were not in a hurry and we were chatting. The overall atmosphere was pleasant and as we were eating from the lunch menu the bill was good value. Would we eat here again? Well to be honest we felt that the food was just ok thus the average score.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rem2226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Glasgow, outstanding service and great food with a wonderful and varied choice.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have visited Guys Restaurant several times now and it just gets better. In my opinion it is not only the best restaurant in Glasgow but in the Country. What makes it so good is not just the food, but the overall ambience and the atmosphere it creates cannot be found elsewhere, at least not this good. From the welcome you receive and the personal attention throughout our evening makes this a night to remember for all the right reasons. Cant wait to go back and thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crispins9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My daughter and I visited this restaurant. We will not be back. Service was absolutely shocking and we had to wait well over an hour for our meal. We were also ignored at the bar until we asked for a bottle of champagne! Waiting staff completely ignored us preferring to chat to each other about their plans for the weekend. We were left with no drinks on the table and no food. It was appalling and when we complained to the manager he didn't seem to care about the lack of service. Suffice to say we left without teas/coffees as my daughter had to work the following day and we would probably be still sitting there to this day if we hadn't had to ask for the bill 3 times and make a hasty retreat. Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda1scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oasis at the games”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a table here after a hectic day at the games and had a lovely meal only let down slightly by a mix up with dessert. All things said though the meal was great and the surroundings and staff were fantastic. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guy's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Guy's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing