We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An incredibly welcoming place”
Review of Adelaides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelaides
Ranked #10 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An incredibly welcoming place”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Traveling alone and in Glasgow for the first time I booked two nights at Adelaide's. I'm so glad I did. Ted, the proprietor, was so very friendly and helpful, my room was small but clean, well-appointed, and quiet. Breakfast was great (and the cook was as friendly and chatty as Ted). Location was great for access to the city center and an easy walk to the west end. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IBJeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    88
    20
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
55
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

From the moment you enter Adelaides you are treated with genuine friendliness. I was lucky travelling alone, usually difficult to book anywhere, I got 3 nights for £74!!! Room small but
warm and cosy.
Breakfast served by another friendly member of staff.
Nothing too much for any one.
There is even an auditorium if you want to put on a show or rehearse.
Go to Glasgow it's warm and safe - just like Adelaides

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d0remy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

When I arrived at 13:00pm off the coach I wanted to drop by bag off ready to explore the city before check in. But It was a pleasant surprise to be given the room early.

The room was warm, the bed was comfy and the room facilities were good.
I must admit I did not really spend much time in the hotel as I was out a lot. But I was always made to feel welcome coming in and out.

When I go back to Glasgow ill be looking to book here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank club958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle Of Tiree
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our first visit to Adelaides and we were not disappointed. From the initial telephone booking, to our departure, the reception we received could not have been better. What a refreshing change to stay at a place where all the staff we met were very helpful, warm and welcoming - despite the fact that the Reception area was being decorated, we were greeted with smiles and nothing was a bother.

Our room was neatly furnished with simple decor but was very comfortable, clean and warm with lashings of hot water and hostess tray (with biscuits). The bed was comfy with nice linen and a lovely thick warm duvet.

Our breakfasts were good, plenty of choice for continental and the fully cooked option arrived piping hot and on a hot plate as well, excellent and many thanks to the friendly and helpful chef.

An excellent safe place to stay, close to centre, 10mins quick walk to Buchanan St bus station and the advantage of the No.747 Airport bus which stops just below Adelaides.

Having found a great place to stay in Glasgow, we look forward to many more visits and will certainly recommend Adelaides to our friends.

Room Tip: Our room 8 was situated at the top of the building and up several flights of stairs. Whilst this di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsleofTireeFlopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Adelaides is a superb location for exploring Glaasgow - we walked everywhere. Heating is good, lashings of hot water. All of the staff we met are very friendly and helpful. We spent 5 nights there. If we had to do the same would we base ourselves at Adelaides ? There's only one answer (at this highly afordable price) and that is definitely.

Room Tip: Go for Room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Gregor, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My daughter and I stayed in Adelaide's Glasgow for 8 nights. Our stay included seeing family and friends as well as sight seeing. We took many forms of transportation and Adelaide's was within walking distance of all of them- Scot Rail to Edinburgh, Citylink Bus to Campbeltown, Hop on Hop Off around Glasgow, # 31 city bus out to Carmunnock,). I can't say enough about how helpful and friendly all the staff were. VERY, very good value for your money. We stayed in 2 different rooms (away for several days to the west coast and then back again) and each room was equally clean and simple. Bathrooms immaculate! Beds were very comfortable. Breakfasts were great with good strong coffee. At the end of each day of sight seeing and visiting, it was nice to think of going back to our comfy room and having a good night sleep! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandMcKenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Alice
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at Adelaide's for three nights. The location is great for visiting the city with everything within walking distance, including the bus terminal and both train stations. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, one even following Carlton AFL Club, but had never been to Australia. The breakfast was very good with healthy choices, rooms are simple but very clean, good bed, all round excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inspectorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
668 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaides

Property: Adelaides
Address: 209 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaides 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two star 8 bedroom guesthouse based in a Grade 2 listed building in Glasgow city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Adelaides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaides Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing