We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Adelaides

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adelaides
Ranked #10 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My travel companion and I enjoyed the spacious room and bathroom. The staff was welcoming and helpful, Ted should do stand up comedy! The house was close to shops and eating and to city for sights. The breakfast is not stellar,so you may want to supplement but there are plenty of places to do that nearby. Definitely worth the visit, we would go back!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Adelaides
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

By the time I leave I would have been here a week. It is an excellent place to stay. Very close to the town centre however it is very quiet. The staff are wonderful and always pleased to help you. Breakfast is freshly cooked and nothing is too much trouble. I will certain return if I can.

Room Tip: I stayed in an ensuite room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devonmaid134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A short overnight stop was all I needed, and after a lot of searching online I came across Adelaides, and I'm glad I did. Located two minutes literally from King Tuts where I was to see the mighty Francis Dunnery in concert. Friendly staff, comfortable room, clean, safe. When I return to Glasgow again, whenever that may be, I'll be checking availability at Adelaides before I would even consider looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feargalmderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful! Beds extremely comfy. Location great for walking to attractions or bus/train. We walked everywhere, and staff was very accommodating when we needed a taxi, or directions, or even recommendations for dining. Budget so no frills, but safe, homey, and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J01938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have lost count of how many years I have returned to the warmth of this humble B&B. If you are a first- timer, or repeat visitor to Glasgow, and have yet to stay at Adelaides, I would encourage you to give them a try. You may find swankier digs in the west end, but there is a beauty of simplicity about the place, and in travels world wide, I have never encountered a friendlier staff. Ted is an invaluable source of help and information, and should probably be given the key to the city as one of it's kindest ambassadors.

Room Tip: Ask Ted...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My daughter and I visited Glasgow, Scotland in October 2013 and had booked 2 nights at Adelaides based on Tripadvisor reviews. What a nice little gem! My daughter had spoken with Ted at Adelaides about the booking and it was like dealing with an old friend. After taking a bus from Cardiff to Glasgow, we were within walking distance of Adelaides and Ted had provided excellent directions. We arrived before noon and were very pleasantly surprised to find our room ready for us. This is not a traditional hotel but rather a large church which has a guest house area with a small number of rooms on several levels, a day care nursery area in the lower level, rehearsal facilities and even choirs practicing in the evening which sounded lovely. We stayed in Room 6 which had 1 double and 2 twin size beds. The room was very comfortable and had everything we needed including lovely shortbread cookies to go with the tea and coffee provided. There is a breakfast area on the lower level where Gerry will cook a full breakfast at an additional charge or there is cheese, yogurt, fruit, toast, tea and coffee included. He was able to accommodate my daughter's special dietary needs which is always a plus. Adelaides is located on Bath Street which has a number of public bus routes and is also within easy walking distance of a pedestrian mall area with lots of shops and restaurants. The hop-on/hop-off tour bus was a very short walk and the ticket is valid for 2 days.
If you demand luxury accommodations when you travel then this would probably not be for you. We were looking for something comfortable, clean, convenient and homey and that's just what we got. If I were to find myself in Glasgow again I would definitely return to Adelaides.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nygrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Adelaides is a decent place to stay in Glasgow. It is two blocks off of Sauchiehall Street so there are lots of eating and shopping places nearby. The room I had was fairly large with two beds, TV, coffee maker, etc. It had good lighting both artificial and natural. The room backed up on, and had a view of, the back area of the buildings -- not very scenic -- but I was in a city environment, what did I expect?

The rate was reasonable but Adelaides is not a bed and breakfast, breakfast was an extra charge so I ate elsewhere. That is OK -- it got me out and moving around in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackdog51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,154 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 35 in Glasgow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adelaides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaides

Address: 209 Bath Street, Glasgow G2 4HZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £40 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Adelaides 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two star 8 bedroom guesthouse based in a Grade 2 listed building in Glasgow city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Adelaides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaides Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing