We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in Scotland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed once again at the Guest House while seeing family in Scotland. It continues to work to the highest standards of elegance, cleanliness and friendliness. Apart from the great location- close to two great parks, easy access from two motorways, busstop outside door,train station 10 minutes walk, walking distance from Burrell Museum, Art Lovers House, sports facilities, the guest house has an independent kitchen for guests.
Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrelandObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I booked my mum in here and John and his team could not have done more for her and her partner. The best accommodation she has been in many years she says.
Haat off to you for looking after her so well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markymarkpaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed with my elderly mother and the proprietor could not have been more helpful. Room ideally suited for her; the ensuite even had bars alongside the toilet and the twin beds high ( easier for her). THere is a small guest kitchen so it is possible to make simple meals and snacks. The guest lounge is very comfortable. Breakfast included a fruit platter which suited us very well. The recommendation for dinner was spot on. Plenty of parking and easy access from the M77. We walked to Pollock Park where the Burrell Collection and Pollock House are definitely worth a look. The Sat Nav brought us to the back of the house which was confusing at first ( we took a long detour to find the front again) But the Sat NAv was correct! Parking is at the back.

Room Tip: The ground floor twin room in the corner was great for my mother ( aged 92yrs)
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank bailhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

4 of us stayed at the family apartment for two nights. The room was spacious and clean. Full English breakfast was served. It's the best meal I had in Glasgow. The host John was nice and informative. I will definitely come back if I visit Glasgow again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We booked two nights at the Glasgow Guest House to accommodate our trip to Glasgow for a wedding. I travelled up from London with my partner (although I am originally from Glasgow) and five other family members (from Edinburgh) and we were very impressed with the Glasgow Guest House.

The standard of the rooms, value for money, cleanliness, friendliness of staff – John the owner even drove us all to the Church on the day of the wedding. Spectacular service, great quality of food – the fruit salad was divine. This really is a hidden gem in Glasgow – right next door to the House of the Art Lover and a close drive to the Burrell Collection. A great find if you are looking to explore Glasgow and avoid the bustle of the city centre! Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmohic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My husband and i stayed here last Saturday for one night, and would highly recommend this guest house, very clean and comfortable with lots of small touches that can be so often missing. John was lovely and went out his way to help us - running us in his car to where we would be able to get our bus - Thank you John and good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craftyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night when we went to see Take That at Hampden. The house was beautiful. We had a double room that was very clean and comfortable. The owner John was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. He arranged a taxi for us to go to the concert, and was very helpful when we returned.

The next morning we had a lovely full Scottish breakfast in the conservatory.

We would definitely recommend staying here. The service is excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dw1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
876 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
836 reviews
Alamo Guest House
#2 of 36 in Glasgow
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £63 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing