We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on a training course. The lovely owner John put me in the flat which was very clean, extremely comfortable and suited my needs exactly whilst I was away from home (fridge for basics, microwave and hob) The location was fantastic, just a short walk to the train station and a quick train journey to the city centre. The owner was very attentive and the breakfast was amazing! All the other reviews on here are testament to the wonderful service provided by John and staff. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
206
73
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed there on our cycle from Land's End to John O'Groats. The location was ideal for us although it may not suit everyone as it was close to the motorway and main road and some flats, but is quiet enough.
The bikes were secured away in the garage. We were given use of the family room which was very spacious and had its own kitchen area, so we made use of this by ordering a Chinese Takeaway rather than having to go out again. The room was nice and clean and the shower room/toilet was modern and clean.
The breakfast room was very nice and the breaskfast was nice too.
In summary, a great place to stay for cyclists and great value for money. Recommended.

Room Tip: We had the family room with kitchen, double bed and two additional single beds. Nice bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is a beautifully located and elegant town house - we were close to the art houses and park and also the trina to center city - John works 24/7 to insure the comfort and needs of all guests - We enjoyed every moment of 4 days there.....fresh and healthy breakfast choices and lots of info for you as you visit the city - Again, Compliments and high praise to John and his team for such terrific "looking after"!!!!!!! Carol and Joe

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckljpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Glasgow Guest House is an amazing place to stay! Great hospitality and very welcoming!! John created a really friendly atmosphere and was always very helpful. Everything was very clean and the rooms were excellent! The breakfasts were delicious!
The guest house also has a cosy lounge and a guest kitchen.
The train station is nearby and it only takes you about 6 minutes to get into the centre from there. The guest house is situated only a few minutes from Pollok Country Park with the Burell Collection and Pollok House and Bellahouston Park, with the House for an Art Lover.
I stayed there for six weeks, whilst I was doing an internship in Glasgow and really had a wonderful time!! I would always come back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne_M_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

I found this particular guest house to be one of the best I've ever stayed in! I work away from home a lot and like to use guest houses rather than hotels/motels. I worked night shift on this particular visit to Glasgow and the owner assured me that I wouldn't be disturbed while sleeping in the daytime. He was right. The place was spotless and the breakfasts were just Devine.
I would most definitely recommend the Glasgow guest house to anybody who is planning a trip to Glasgow.
I am probably one of the fussiest people around to please and I have stayed in many, many guest houses over the last 20 years, I am just saddened that I have no more trips to Glasgow in the near future because this place is my number 1 choice of places to visit. If you are a landlord of a guest house and reading this review, then take a leaf out of the owners book of this guest house!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niked38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

John is an amazing host and very accomodating. He's informative, friendly and works hard to make your stay relaxing and worry-free. It's family friendly, clean and comfortable. It's close to a park, swimming pool and transportation. We stayed there last August and it's where we will go everytime we visit Glasgow! Thank you for all your help and hospitality John!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had a great time with the best fruit selection for breakfast of any of the B&Bs we stayed in while in the UK for 3 weeks. Had a little trouble finding the place but once there John was very accommodation. My new iPad had some trouble picking up the wifi signal but it all worked fine. I think we were the oldest ones there. We got the handicapped suite. Great time. Just wonder what it would be like with a little sunshine in Glasgow. John - you should have control over this.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brgalvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
823 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
829 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing