We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasgow Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a lovely stone home. the owner was attentive and breakfast was very good. Our room was nice with a large bed. This place is not near the city. The train station is at least a 10 minute walk away. ( probably more). We only stayed one night as this was a stop before we headed to the Highlands. I would recommend but we didn't get to tour Glasgow. Make sure you know where you are going before you leave. This place was hard to find.

Room Tip: We were off the Kitchen so it was a little noisy in the morning but it was the only room available a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ASurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    516
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
127
203
71
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

It was an excellent guest house . We stayed there Aug 2013 for three days , as a four persons family we stayed at the family room which was perfect. The location is very good , quiet, next to a magnificent park . The guest house is beautiful , and in an excellent condition. Super clean, super breakfast everything super. John, should be very proud for what he have done with the guest house. Himself is an excellent host , polite and warm . No complains at all. I strongly recommend it .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantinos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

John was very welcoming and we felt right at home. He gave us a map and good advice for our visits in Glasgow. We enjoyed the breakfast, full scottish or a really nice selection of fruits. The rooms and the lounge were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenZebraTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the first moment you enter this guest house you are made welcome. John is warm and friendly and very professional. He takes his time to ensure you know your way around the guest house and also offers useful tips on attractions in and around the area. Breakfast is the best we've tasted and the friendly staff make the whole experience of staying here an absolute pleasure. I am originally from Glasgow and my mum lives very close to the Guest House. When I asked John if it was ok to take mum round and show her the fantastic lounge and rooms he not only enthusiastically agreed but, unknown to us, he laid on fresh coffee, cake and biscuits - what an absolute gentleman. John is a very successful businessman and he has achieved this by working very very hard to ensure every one of his guests have a great experience while staying at the Glasgow Guest House. If you are visiting Glasgow don't think of booking anywhere else since you will not find better.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms - our room on the first floor was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

LOCATION: Easy to get to, 5 mins from motorway. 2 mins from train station which is only 1 stop away from Glasgow city centre. Lovely quiet area with a choice of beautiful parks to visit within walking distance.

From the moment my partner & I arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome. we parked at the rear of the house, our car was more than secure :) John, the manager gave us lots of information about the area & ways to commute. He gave us keys to our beautifully decorated & well equipped room & left us to get unpacked. The bed was huge & comfy, the shower room was super clean & well stocked with toiletries, loo rolls & lots of clean towels. Honestly, there wasn't a speck of dust in sight!!! & these standards were matched throughout the guest house. Breakfast was plentiful with limitless cereal etc, & we were given a choice of prepared breakfast too!!! Johns cooked Scottish breakky was yum! ~ he makes perfect eggs lol x GREAT value for money, we will definitely be staying there again!!!. Also, there was a concert scheduled on one of the nearby parks when we stayed, so there were quite a few young people staying at the guest house. Everyone was mindful & courteous of other guests & their privacy :) in fact, there was a really homely vibe about the place x

Room Tip: even though we were in the last available room, next to the conservatory dining area, there was no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the minute you walk in, you can see why this place is rated number one. It is all about personal service. John makes you feel welcome and goes out of his way to provide a pleasant stay. The fruit platter for breakfast cannot be better. James (John's assistance) is always ready to refill your cup or provide just about anything you need. From a value perspective, this is the best deal I have had. I have been traveling continuously since April 5 and by far this has been the best place. It is a 3 star property with five star service. The rooms are well appointed, spotless, and comfortable. I wish, I could change my previous ratings because none of the other places are at par with Glasgow guest house. It was so good that I made my 3 day stay into a 7 day stay, and used Glasgow as a base to explore Scotland. I am very lucky to have found this place. Beautiful place.....just awesome!

Room Tip: Get the fruit platter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erickrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great service, clean mordern rooms,good breakfast service, value for money. Great location central to Glasgow city centre and other surrounding venues. Would highly recomend this guest house for concerts/ events at Bellahouston Park. Will definitely be back to stay in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing