We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

it seems like it is out of the way...however a 5 minute train ride gets you to the center of Glasgow. It took a 5 minute walk in a beautiful section of this area to get us to the train! and cost about 1.50 pounds return trip....we had a fun dinner at the "Livingroom" at about 7pm and were sound asleep by 10pm....great place with really nice folks to help you out! would stay again!!!!

Room Tip: this was a wonderful place seems a little out of the way but really is not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellepstammel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
128
203
71
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you are looking for quality, comfortable, and convenient accommodation in Glasgow - you have found it. John Naismith is a perfectionist and his Guest House reflects this. You will receive a very warm welcome and John knows Glasgow like the back of his hand. My wife and I have just spent two great night here and you won't find better anywhere.

We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Plenty of excellent parking available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Glasgow Guest House and couldn't have been more comfortable. A beautifully furnished house situated appox 5 minutes from the centre and just off Pollock Park. A wonderful fruit platter for breakfast! We would like to thank our host and family for being so kind and helpful. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a lovely stone home. the owner was attentive and breakfast was very good. Our room was nice with a large bed. This place is not near the city. The train station is at least a 10 minute walk away. ( probably more). We only stayed one night as this was a stop before we headed to the Highlands. I would recommend but we didn't get to tour Glasgow. Make sure you know where you are going before you leave. This place was hard to find.

Room Tip: We were off the Kitchen so it was a little noisy in the morning but it was the only room available a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASurak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

It was an excellent guest house . We stayed there Aug 2013 for three days , as a four persons family we stayed at the family room which was perfect. The location is very good , quiet, next to a magnificent park . The guest house is beautiful , and in an excellent condition. Super clean, super breakfast everything super. John, should be very proud for what he have done with the guest house. Himself is an excellent host , polite and warm . No complains at all. I strongly recommend it .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantinos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

John was very welcoming and we felt right at home. He gave us a map and good advice for our visits in Glasgow. We enjoyed the breakfast, full scottish or a really nice selection of fruits. The rooms and the lounge were very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenZebraTomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the first moment you enter this guest house you are made welcome. John is warm and friendly and very professional. He takes his time to ensure you know your way around the guest house and also offers useful tips on attractions in and around the area. Breakfast is the best we've tasted and the friendly staff make the whole experience of staying here an absolute pleasure. I am originally from Glasgow and my mum lives very close to the Guest House. When I asked John if it was ok to take mum round and show her the fantastic lounge and rooms he not only enthusiastically agreed but, unknown to us, he laid on fresh coffee, cake and biscuits - what an absolute gentleman. John is a very successful businessman and he has achieved this by working very very hard to ensure every one of his guests have a great experience while staying at the Glasgow Guest House. If you are visiting Glasgow don't think of booking anywhere else since you will not find better.

Room Tip: No experience of other rooms - our room on the first floor was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carole g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#10 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing