We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grainne F”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grainne F”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with family, recommended by a cousin! I have to say an absolute pleasure to stay here! John plus staff were very accommodating, the rooms were fabulous and the breakfast was to die for!!! Bus route into town directly outside the guesthouse!I would highly recommend this guesthouse if you long for a hearty Scottish welcome!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GrainneF808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
136
207
74
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

John and James make this B&B very welcoming place to stay. It’s is situated in one of the prettiest areas of Glasgow and it's great to walk around this area. We stayed in the flat which was comfortable. The breakfast was very good and plenty of it. A downfall was there aren’t many local shops or restaurants around so if you intend to use the kitchen area bring your food and wine with you. The noise from downstairs dinning area is loud in the flat. The rooms in the house looked fantastic and very comfortable I think I would choose to stay there next time. The train is about a 5minute walk and is only one stop to the city centre which is very easy and convenient.

Room Tip: If you're not wanting the kitchen then book a room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed one night at this establishment and will return again when in Glasgow. John had our room ready early as we came in on a morning flight from Canada. His directions for taking the train into the City centre and suggestions for a half day at Pollock Park were greatly appreciated. Service was topnotch, breakfast was substantial and the rooms were spotless!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed a this b&b over a two year period. It is very comfortable place with John being very accommodating. It is handy to public transport and places of interest. John was able to flesh out our ideas to make our time in Glasgow enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RussfTownsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent three nights at the Glasgow Guest House and found it to be outstanding. From our welcome, to our farewell it was a pleasurable experience. I,'ll keep this review short and sweet as its all pretty much summed up in the others. Value for money, cleanliness, location are all big factors when choosing accommodation, but when you throw everything else that the Glasgow Guest House has to offer, you,'ll see why this B & B rates so highly.
We will certainly be visiting again. A big thanks to John and James for making our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donandfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A great place in a lovely area of Glasgow - beautiful old homes and an amazing old "pub" for dinner!
One train station to city.
My sister and I had the apartment which was well set up. Clean and such comfortable beds!
John was a great host, the home has beautiful decor.
Cooked breakfast was generous and delicious.
The place to stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and my sister stayed there for two nights and had such a great stay at the Glasgow Guest House. John was such a great host! You cannot have a better one! He takes care of everyone! And you can call him 24 hours. Everything is very clean and nice and smells good.

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libertus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
835 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
658 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing