We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star service at Three star prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Five star service at Three star prices”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We are regular visitors to Glasgow Guest House and like all the regular guests we have met we are great fans . We spent four days there in early December. John is a great host and goes several miles extra if necessary to facilitate guests. James, his Housekeeping Manager( and specialist in Glasgow humour) makes sure that the high standard of cleanliness is maintained.
The Guest House is ideally placed for easy public transport access to the city (by bus or train). It is 5 minutes walk from Bellahouston park that houses the Charles Rennis Mackintosh House for an Art Lover - well worth visiting.(Its daytime restaurant is superb) and 10 minutes walk from Pollack Park - a huge park including the Burell Collection Museum and a herd of Highland Cattle.
If you want to get off to a really good start each day then ask John for the fruit breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandObserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    32
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
134
206
73
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Hi. I stay regular at the Glasgow Guest House. The last time i stayed at the Glasgow guest House most of the guests where returning guests. I really think that speaks volumes about the care and attention John, James & Mark gives to there guests. It is warm welcoming homely environment. How many Guest houses take the time to put a Christmas tree up?. As a Guest House from the welcome to the breakfast to the accommodation they just do it right. i will be back in the New Year for another stay & if you are going Glasgow give them a call. BH

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Welcomed by James, made to feel at home right away. Accommodation comfortable, warm and safe. Guest sitting room very pleasant indeed with, incidentally, the best decorated Christmas tree we have ever seen in real life. John makes sure everyone is well looked after and is a charming host. Travelling as a couple, but in relation to my wife's business. They could not have been more helpful with regard to providing space for her to prepare her (large) flower arrangements. Noted that an earlier reviewer mentioned the need for a blind in the bathroom - these have been fitted and privacy is just fine. Would recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyberTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The service was absolutely first rate and the staff were so friendly and helpful. A full Scottish breakfast was a perfect pick-me-up in the morning. The location is great for Rennie Mackintosh's House for an Art Lover, set in the beautiful Bellahouston Park. I've payed two or three times as much for London hotels and not had such a good stay as I did at Glasgow Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phill_John3_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just spent two nights at Glasgow Guest House, very comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming. After a difficult drive out of Glagow from the Kelvingrove Museum, John told us to use the train to go into the city centre, Dumbreck Station is just five minutes walk away and a return ticket is £2. Glasgow is a great city to visit and Johns' local knowledge and enthusiasm for his home town took us to some great places. We walked to the Burrell Collection which took us about 30 minutes. The stunning House for an Art Lover is 5 minutes walk, and has a very good restaurant for lunch. Glasgow city centre is very attractive especially with it's Christmas lights, it also had a Christmas Market and outdoor ice rink so we choose a good time to visit.
We only decided to visit Glasgow because we wanted to see the Jack Vettriano exhibition, but we loved it and hope to return.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the house and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Thanks so much to John for making this a wonderful overnight stay for us both, from the very moment we arrived to the very moment we left nothing was too much bother for him, room ( flat within guesthouse ) was spacious, spotless, warm and very well decorated. breakfast was spot on, plenty off parking, so no problems there either. altogether a superb place to stay if visiting Glasgow. no wonder this place has number one spot on Tripadvisor - 100% deserved !! thanks so much again john will certainly be back mate !! john and ang - Dunfermline.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights as I was attending a work course nearby. John is an extremely attentive host, nothing seemed too much. The room was nicer than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in. I know the guest kitchen had all the facilities but it would have been nice to have tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. Not that it spoiled my stay just a very small comment. I found both John & James easy to talk to and friendly they made me feel very welcome. I would highly recommend this guest house and will definitely stay again. excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 95 in Glasgow
822 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,070 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 95 in Glasgow
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing