We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay at the Glasgow Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glasgow Guest House
Ranked #1 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay at the Glasgow Guest House”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Glasgow Guest House in March. We had the room at the front of the house with a queen bed and insuite bath. The location of the B&B, house itself, and John, it's owner were all wonderful!

Location: Less than 15 minutes by car or train outside of Glasgow. The train station is literally a 5 minute walk from the Guest House and is the 1st stop from the Central Station. So, if traveling from Glasgow City to the B&B, it's one stop and from the B&B to Glasgow City, it's one stop. Very easy!

Glasgow Guest House: Lovely property and very nicely decorated. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely sized. The breakfast was fabulous with a choice of four options, which all were scrumptious. We had the fruit (lovely and delicious) and scrambled eggs (lots of eggs!). The breakfast times weren't too early, so we didn't feel we had to get up early and rush around. Really nice when we'd been traveling for several days. The library is also really comfortable with nice sofa's and end tables. Lots of books to brouse through. My favorite part of the house is the conservatory: so bright and airy - was a wonderful place to eat breakfast and start the day!

John, Owner: What a wonderful person. John was always available, totally accommodating, very flexible, and just a genuinely nice guy. John loves the Glasgow Guest House and it's obvious by the way he cares for it.

Room Tip: 1: The rooms aren't stocked with a hair dryer. Either ask John to have one in the room when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HagridVeela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    31
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
130
205
72
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The Glasgow Guest House fully deserves the excellent reviews that made us choose to stay there when in Glasgow for a hospital appointment. The welcome, the room (especially pleased with the shower room)and the service were all faultless. We thoroughly recommend the place. Many thanks to John and the team.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sulla12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful
3 days at the Glasgow guesthouse.We had my mother with us and as a well travelled person she fell in love with John and James and their fantastic service.The rooms were very comfortable with nice bathrooms and were on the ground floor.The boys serve up a great breakfast with a great choice to suit everybody's taste.They have a small kitchen with free teas and coffee if you fancy a brew which is great especially at night.My wife and I enjoyed the lovely lounge which was great for a natter as its so peaceful and no noise from anything or one.The best thing is John the owner he is such a nice guy and goes over and above to make your stay perfect.This may be a 3star guesthouse but its 5star service from the boys all the time.Please give them a try you will not be dissapointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been going to Glasgow several times a year for many years but this was the first time I have stayed at the Glasgow Guest House. The comments placed by reviewers are true. The cleanliness, decor and food were first class. I made an emergency late booking and cannot thank John enough for the kindness he showed to my family and me. I shall be eternally grateful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMC1916YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We needed accommodation for two nights while attending a wedding in Glasgow. A look a Google maps brought up the Glasgow Guest House. What a find! Just a couple of hundred yards from the venue. John could not be more welcoming, friendly and helpful. The room was spotless. The guest kitchen is a very novel and a great idea. The fruit salad breakfast is a must try - you can also have the full Scottish and all served with a smile. We could not fault it and at the price it is fantastic!

On a practical note the location is very easy to get to from the motorway and has bags of parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelty.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My grandson and I stayed here over the week-end and it is simply the best. John and Mark made us feel so welcome and James served us with a fantastic breakfast. The decor has the wow factor, the rooms are spotless, the beds are so comfortable, the little guest kitchen is an added extra and I will certainly be back. I will be recommending it to all my friends and would strongly recommend it to anyone who is looking for palace to stay whilst visiting Glasgow. John and Mark you are fantastic hosts who go the extra mile in hospitality. Top marks from me and my family. Thank You.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a simply marvelous time staying here. Thanks to john and his awesome hospitality! But even better, the aesthetics of the guest house is simply beautiful. The rooms, the bathrooms, the conservatory, and most especially the common room. I have threatened john with a return visit. Lol! Best things in life really do come in small packages. Keep up the good work John! Kelechi and Wale

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelechi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#3 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#9 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Guest House

Property: Glasgow Guest House
Address: 56 Dumbreck Road, Glasgow G41 5NP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely sandstone building. Variety of rooms available including a family apartment (double room/lounge, separate twin, bathroom and kitchen). Breakfast served daily (choice from a menu). Library area in guest lounge. Guest kitchen to prepare your own evening meals and snacks. Great transport links, train one stop direct into city centre (8 minutes) Bus stop directly outside house, reduced rate taxi company available. Large garden / patio area to rear of the house. Excellence award winner for 4 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Guest House Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing