We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of White Cart

White Cart
Ranked #228 of 2,447 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub, Grill, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The White Cart is a rustic pub grub establishment situated in the heart of busby serving fantastic meals at reasonable prices also have a fully licenced bar.
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had lunch with my wife and a couple of friends , it was ok , plain cooking , service was also ok and prices were good . Might go back again but it could be better .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank m_watson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    83
    49
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant but Terrible Meal”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Have been to White Cart a couple of times, either with family or friends. Most recently the food was poor. I had the Chicken Kiev which was like a slab of boiled chicken with little or no garlic butter or even any coating, my friend had the fish and chips, again the batter on the fish is soggy and the chips are grim and the drinks are quite expensive. It was a lovely warm evening, but unfortunately inside the restaurant had Air con - Had to put on a cardi!
So we won't be rushing back again, cold, expensive and poor food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nice Food in Attractive Venue”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I went in for an early dinner last week and found the place very busy. We had a main meal and a couple of drinks each, which were nice, albeit I thought that the drinks were a bit on the pricey side, more in keeping with town prices.

Staff are friendly, but they are very rushed, so much so, that our table had not been cleared of plates by the time we left.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz12Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Give this one a try”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This resturant is part of the Chef & Brewer Chain We sometimes dine for lunch after Church the

menu is substantial and varied with a good choice of food.

The Staff are very pleasent and the meals are filling and reasonably priced give it a try

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great opportunity missed”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have passed The White Cart many times over the past couple of years and always promised to go there for lunch.So on [yet another] glorious summer day we set off for lunch.
We sat outside and enjoyed a pint in the sunshine but decided to eat inside.I must point out at this stage that we felt the drink prices to be rather high,just under £8 for two pints.We regularly eat out in Glasgow City where drinks are far more reasonably priced especially with the high rate/rental charges that must apply to the location.
We were pleasantly surprised by the interior of the pub,very tastefully decorated with a feeling of space and calm, a peaceful oasis on the outskirts of Busby.
We placed our order after being greeted by efficient and friendly staff,I chose the chicken kiev and my Husband had the fish pie.
While we were waiting for our order a lady at an adjoining table found an acrylic nail in her dessert............Ann the manager ? was summoned and apologised and offered a replacement to the customer.Professionally dealing with a very embarrassing situation although alarming to other visitors.
Our meal then arrived and that really was when we knew we should have left after our drink.....My kiev was dry,dense and had no resemblance to the moist breast of chicken oozing with garlic butter that I had anticipated and expected.The chips were frozen/reheated and tasteless.Such a disappointment after looking forward to sampling The White Cart.
My Husband's fish pie was one piece of fish [rather than chunks of assorted fish that is usual] one very tiny prawn,potato and very cheesy sauce.He felt that the sauce and potato were there at the substitute of fish filling.
All in all a very disappointing outcome and I feel, a lost opportunity for the owners of this public house where much work has been carried out to make it a very comfortable venue.
When our plates were being cleared we were asked if our meal was okay.....the amount of food left was the visible answer.The manager [Ann] apologised and explained that the kiev was being taken off the menu as they didn't feel it was a acceptable option [I have to wonder why it was still being served if this is the case]
We queried the fish pie....one piece of fish therefore no mixture and was told that customers had found this a good option so obviously personal choice.
We were offered coffee or a dessert and chose coffee,we were not charged for one meal and received an apology.
It seems bad business if customers bills are having to be discounted or waived and complimentary alternatives offered as was the case during our visit [Tripadvisor comments clarify this situation]
This pub obviously operates without a chef and relies on microwave/combi oven alternatives and it shows.Many city centre restaurants offer a higher quality of food at more competitive prices....great opportunity missed !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate111113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Cart also viewed

Clarkston, East Renfrewshire
Clarkston, East Renfrewshire
 

Been to White Cart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing