We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience, will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Pavone Sud - CLOSED

Il Pavone Sud
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome experience, will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I went to this restaurant to have dinner with my girlfriend.
In first place, the food was great. I had a fantastic Pizza Verona and my girlfriend had Penne Contadina. The pizza was perfectly cooked, the pasta was "al dente" and all the ingredients were fresh and tasty.

We were also impressed by the desserts. They have all sorts of sweets to choose from! And some of them, like the Copa Amarena or Torta della Nonna, are true italian desserts that you can't find everywhere, and the presentation was great. The coffees at the end were just perfect.

Also, the service was surprisingly good. The staff really tries their best to make you feel comfortable and to make sure that you have a pleasant time in the restaurant. We were really happy about this, they knew what we needed before we had to ask. Amazing!

Finally, the bill. Way less than what I expected, taking into account the quality of the food and the service, and the area in which it's located, it is indeed great value for money.

Will definitely be back!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carlospintod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    19
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Recently visited this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised. We had lunch from the set menus and the 2 courses I chose were very good. Good size portions, which is not usually the case when you order from a specials menu. food was well presented, well cooked and great value for money. Service was great, young gentleman who served us was very friendly, attentive and showed no lack of interest or desire to make our time there pleasant. Did not know of this restaurant but as we were shopping at the centre we thought we would give it a try and we will definitely go back again. Price of the pint of lager was the only complaint. I know its normal for restaurants to charge more for drinks but at £4.85 a pint was a bit steep.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat whilst shopping in the centre. Opted for the lovely two course menu. Great value considering the options on the menu. Was served by two gentlemen on a busy Thursday afternoon. To start had the fried courgettes in batter with a spicy Napoli sauce and for main a penne pasta dish. Was good to see the staff so friendly with the customers and holding the doors open was great to see. Overall good meal. Will be back for more soon. Thank you!

Helpful?
1 Thank MrBojangles1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent attentive service and the pizzas and pastas are the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have been going here for a decade and never yet had a poor meal. We very regularly take friends and visitors from abroad who are equally impressed. The calamari are always fresh and crispy. The pizzas are as good as you will get anywhere including Italy and the U.S. and my wife is addicted to the rissoto which never fails. Having eaten in around 30 recommended restaurants in Glasgow we keep among back to Il Pavone Sud.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnmacbeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shocking Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good choice on the menu and the food itself was nice with generous portions.
Unfortunately the serving staff were as poor as I've come across. From ours seat we could see our meals ready at the kitchen, but the two waiters were too busy having a chat to notice. We had to request the same drinks order three times. Then to end it off when bringing ice cream for the kids rather than using a tray the waiter carried them in the same hand with his fingers inside the bowls, which were the dumped on the table.
Really disappointed and would never return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robb190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pavone Sud also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing