We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Court Dining”
Review of Il Pavone

Il Pavone
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Pavone is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #591 of 2,411 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Il Pavone Restaurant serve authentic Italian dishes made the traditional way
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food Court Dining”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visited on a busy Saturday. We were greeted by staff, and asked if we had a voucher. We actually had a gift voucher, won as a prize. Soup for starters, followed by lasagna and pizza which we shared. It would be a great place to people watch, but I was actually cold sitting in the gallery. Staff were very busy, and my cocktail was forgotten. Staff very apologetic. Food was ok, would go back if wanting a quick meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRITTNEY BACKPACKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    106
    76
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“No more than average”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Had never been before so gleefully purchased an Itison deal.

Could imagine being a good choice for people watchers but being before 5pm on a Wednesday there wasn't a lot of atmosphere or people around.

Was clean, service and food were ok, nothing special.

Can say I have been but wouldn't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I visited this restaurant on Friday the 4th October with my 5 friends and none of us had a decent meal. On a positive note the starters were quite good - mussels, deep fried mushrooms and chicken liver pate, however, the main courses were poor - deep fried sole goujons were overcooked (burnt) and had the sole was non existent, risotto ice with smoked salmon was a bowl of stodge very heavy, thick and inedible.

We can only think that the chef had an off night as we had eaten here about 6 months ago, however, after this experience none of us will be back in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert24060712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Late lunch date”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went with a voucher & was rather impressed with the quality of the food & the service was spot on, very attentive staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AHB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Il Pavone in Princess Square”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Itison deal and well worth it. Wednesday evening was quiet, but I doubt it will be in a month or so, with the Christmas rush starting. Two main meals were great, I had the Spaghetti Piscatori with nice crunchy prawns, luscious calamari rings and a spicy thick tomato sauce. Mrs Mystic had Pasta Arrabiata which she like also. House red was well quaffable.
I wil return with the hope of a tad more atmosphere.
Recommend.

Mystic Milo

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MysticMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pavone also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Il Pavone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing