We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place and recommend it for warmheartedness as well as for amenities”
Review of Alison Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alison Guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My companion and I felt so happy with Alison Guesthouse that we extended our stay from a planned 3 nights to 5. Of course the main bonus is the hosts' kindness and helpfulness. But we had soap and clean towels, maybe not new but not threadbare, and sheets on our bed. And every time we thought something was amiss (like the down comforter was too warm for the season) we said so and the problem was corrected. So by all means I recommend this guest house. It is a bit far from the historic center if you're not driving, but we finally mastered tje Glasgow bus system and you can get there.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mafalda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2008

Our group of eight were impressed by what we read on their website. This was our first trip to Scotland and all we had to go on was what we read. The places we stayed at in Pitlochry and Edinburgh were wonderful! Unfortunately, we were rather disappointed with Allison Guest House. The building was described as one of the finest in the area--it left a lot to be desired. There was no public room where our group could meet. We were told before hand via email that all amenities were available. However, we found out there was only one hairdryer to be had! Never saw an iron. There were no sheets on our bed- just a dust ruffle and a comforter. There was no soap, or bath mats and the towels were old, threadbare and really needed to be replaced. The owners did not tell us they were leaving on holiday before we arrived. They left a friend in charge who really did not know the area. She did a nice job of preparing breakfast for us but wasn't able to help us with any of our questions. The website boasts about plenty of parking- it was hard to find spots. The backyard patio was not available and was small and not attractive. The terms they used to describe their facility--superb, finest, elegant, etc really should not have been used. They wrote of an uncompromising level of service-- I am afraid it left much to be desired.
I would not return to this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank set2go52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonnieAndClyde09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kenneth b, Owner at Alison Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,178 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre South Hotel
Craigpark Guest House
#19 of 36 in Glasgow
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alison Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alison Guesthouse

Address: 26 Circus Drive, Glasgow G31 2JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: £27 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alison Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Alison Guesthouse Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing