We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fine!”
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel this weekend and I have to say, after reading the reviews we were a bit worried about going. We stayed after a music gig in Glasgow and the location was very good... plenty of restaurants and bars close by and quite central.
The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival and explained everything we needed to know, such as time of breakfast, etc. The room as basic but clean, comfortable and warm with all basics such as TV and kettle. We chose a room with an en suite as we don't really do shared bathrooms... the shower was very clean and modern and again had everything we needed. We both slept well and the bed was comfortable and linen clean.
Breakfast was lovely... a cooked breakfast on request and self service cereals and juice. Again, staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend anyone to stay here if they are looking for a cheap hotel in the city centre.

Room Tip: Book en suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

359 - 365 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

Budget hotel which suited our purpose. Best described as cheap & cheerful. In need of external & internal refurbishment. Step into bathroom needed assistance of Sherpa Tenzing to get up it!!
Water pressure in shower very poor. All that can be said of breakfast was it was needed after a heavy night out
Location was the key.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Myself three other adults& a child Stopped here for two nights we needed a bed on a budget in this location.that is what we got.the staff friendly the rooms dated, quiet area , shareing bathroom wasnt a problem as they were always clean breakfast was nice .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diddyd26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Shocking rooms, but if your on a budget it works. Given 2 double beds instead of 4 singles, receptionist was not so friendly, given it was hogmanay a smile would have been nice!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolinex1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed here for two nights in room 35 for a friends hen weekend. Don't honestly know where to start, the room was filthy and had some residual smell in it. We had to request they change the shower curtain due to the amount of mould on it (which they had tried to cover up with bleach) There was a patch of carpet between the bedroom and bathroom which was not secured down and was a tripping hazard. The beds were ok but the mattresses felt as though they had seen better days.

The electric in this room was unsafe to say the least, if you used the hairdryer (which was not provided by the way, we had to ask for one) then it would interfere with the television reception. We had to remove the light bulb due to electrical flashing at night, this was turned off too. Not to mention it was also held together with masking tape.

Breakfast was ok but I dont recommend the sausages unless you can handle the cheapest sausages in existence (Ie; full of gristle)

And what the hell about the CCTV cameras in every corner of the place? was it a half way house or something?

Cheap yes, cheerful absolutely not, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs-H-Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

How bad can it be i asked myself while clicking book last night the pictures look sooo nice for the hotel,

First of all heres my likes about the hotel

Its a bed for the night.


Now my dislikes


Its nothing like on the pictures at all so if your expecting a decent warm hotel your wrong.
im in room 14 on the first floor its sooo cold.
The windows and net curtains badly need washing from what must be 20 years ago lol
Its dirty the room the radiator has been shoddily painted over looks a mess it dosent work at all hence the little plug in heater thats been provided.
theres 2 little wooden blocks that look like its holdin the radiator up.

The shower dosent work theres no pressure at all just a faint trickle.
theres empty sugar packets in the re filled sugar bowl
the desks wherent clean they where dusty.
the tv dosent work the volume has gone
the wi fi dosent work (im logged on to some other poor guys wi fi) sorry to whoever that is.
Skirting boards are all grubby
Bed has gone u can feel the springs when u lie in it.
Had a nap this afternoon and it was sooo cold even with clothes and duvet on

(to the people that say the pakistani guy hides in background thats still true) :)

Hotel rooms badly need refurbishment and for the price they charge its dear ive paid 106 pounds for 3 nights some may say thats cheap but theres a hotel called newtons and thats around same price and always full and a far superior hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snuggles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I suppose everyone has different experiences but for me this was more of a hostel than a hotel it was very cheap and tacky. I called up a month in advanced asked for a ground floor twin room as a disabled elderly woman is not fit enough to climb the staires, we arrived and got a upstairs room no disabled access and dinning room was downstairs was narrow stairs.We got a room change to downstairs which was fine, They said the room was ready. There was white powder on the floor, Pee and stuffed toilet roll in the toilet, A cigerette stub in the sink and the windows wouldnt close, I had to get the receptionist to help me with those and when he closed them they opened again and the electric fire didnt work much either so the room was freezing, I felt sick and disgusted and did not even want to sleep in the beds, but with my grandmother there I had no choice. Had breakfast in the morning, we sat at a table no milk so I took a jug from another table, Also there was only one spoon at a two person table which was dirty but my grandmother, she loved it as she has stayed there a couple of times before but mentioned it had changed over the years but I dont care, Its a disgusting hotel. Over all they charged £60 for it which was very expensive for the catering we recieved.

Room Tip: Its noisey, No disabled access, windows dont close and the cleanliness is not very good. Avoid this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wynterz_xD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#80 of 93 in Glasgow
572 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
594 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#86 of 93 in Glasgow
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £25 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing