We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #92 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

It's true it's a budget hotel so I didn't expect anything special. But our room wasn't clean at all. There were awful marks on the wall from blood or something. The breakfast wasn't nice...the cheapest and disgusting sausages I have ever ate. I forgot to mention the double bed - so small and uncomfortable. My advice - pay extra 10 pounds for the Devoncove hotel which is detached to this one and enjoy your time there. Not enough space for all the cars. I'll never be back! And please teach the waitress how to smile!

Room Tip: Don't go to this nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lady7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    62
    86
    43
    131
See reviews for
57
118
51
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed in this little hotel for one evening in November 2012/ The rooms were cheap (I payed £35 for a single en suite) but pretty basic. The carpet in my room had a random wet patch and a burn mark from an iron! The bed was comfy though and the pillows and blankets plentiful There was a small TV with freeview, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The shower was strong and hot though only handsoap was provided. The rooms are small but adequate but the staff are friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was fine, not outstanding but plentiful. I would recommend this hotel if you only need somewhere to lay your head for one or two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on Sauchihall Street at the traffic noise was very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxHannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here after a gig, was a decent walk to the centre, and staff were pleasant. Other than that it was awful! We found mould in the showers, and around the taps in our bedroom. The Duvet was very thin, and being December and having NO double glazing, It was cold during the night. We were on the 3rd floor in a 'box' room and our window opened fully (push up window) which we seen as a health and safety issue (not recommended for families with adventurous children). Was not worth the money we paid.... Last but not least the 'Heinz' tomato sauce was cheap chippy sauce, although there was a decent menu for breakfast! We're not happy, but at the end of the day it was a room for the night...

Room Tip: rooms on 3rd floor were tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseeleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

The hotel bedroom was filthyy husband ended up with flea bites all over him when he complained they did nothing he also asked for a refund which wasnt given i wouldnt reccomend this hotel to anyone staff unhelpfull and breakfast terrible too

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 1 night after a concert staff were friendly, rooms were clean and had everything we needed. I was a bit worried about staying here after reading some of the other reviews but certainly wasn't disappointed with our stay. Breakfast was a good variety for everyone from cereals to cooked breakfast. Another good thing is the hotel had CCTV throughout hotel and for car park which have us that extra piece of mind. Only bad thing I could say was that the bed we had wasn't the comfiest but at paying £38 for the night it was fine. I would recommend this hotel as its fine for what we needed also was close to town centre with lots of nice places to eat on the doorstep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel this weekend and I have to say, after reading the reviews we were a bit worried about going. We stayed after a music gig in Glasgow and the location was very good... plenty of restaurants and bars close by and quite central.
The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival and explained everything we needed to know, such as time of breakfast, etc. The room as basic but clean, comfortable and warm with all basics such as TV and kettle. We chose a room with an en suite as we don't really do shared bathrooms... the shower was very clean and modern and again had everything we needed. We both slept well and the bed was comfortable and linen clean.
Breakfast was lovely... a cooked breakfast on request and self service cereals and juice. Again, staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend anyone to stay here if they are looking for a cheap hotel in the city centre.

Room Tip: Book en suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Budget hotel which suited our purpose. Best described as cheap & cheerful. In need of external & internal refurbishment. Step into bathroom needed assistance of Sherpa Tenzing to get up it!!
Water pressure in shower very poor. All that can be said of breakfast was it was needed after a heavy night out
Location was the key.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Property: Smiths Hotel
Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing