We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 37”
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #91 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Oban
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Avoid room 37”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I booked through booking.com fairly late. I got the last double room at a cost of £80.00.
Arrived - staff fine. Given room 37, which was on the top (4th!) floor. There is no lift. The room, and I guess the whole floor have recently been completed. The fixtures and fittings, etc were fine. New carpet. However, this was a queen size bed. A double bed would not have fitted into the room. Perfectly good, except you could not get into it from both sides, and there was a sloping roof which meant you had limited standing space. If I were single I would have been perfectly happy with this room, but my wife was not at all happy (and not because she was sharing with me!!) It was quite noisy as the door at the top of the stairs was adjoining, and there were a number of revellers returning from their night out at 3 a.m.. OK, I can put up with that as I am a good sleeper and can get back to sleep. BUT £80 for this room. Not good value. The full Scottish breakfast was OK. I rasher of bacon, one (poor quality) sausage, one egg, half a tomato and some beans. In fact, not wishing to be racist, it was actually an English breakfast because their was no black pudding or haggis! As my wife says, we won't be going back here.

Room Tip: Avoid room 37, and if you have restricted mobility, there is no lift and there are 4 floors (in addi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    65
    89
    44
    136
See reviews for
59
122
51
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The rooms where very basic but the staff where excellent and could not do enough to help. The breakfast was surprisingly good.

There are alot better hotels in the area and we only stayed because everywhere else was fully booked.


If you just want somewhere to sleep and a good breakfast the smith is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_miller-1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Made the booking on lastminute.com at a cheap rate, to be fair without really thinking about it, but seeing as the price for a double room should have been £45 then I thought it would be decent - how wrong I was. We arrived and quickly dropped our bags off before heading to the hydro for a gig, when we opened the room up the window was open and due to it being winter, I obviously closed it before we headed out. When we arrived back, I realised why the window was wide open - our room absolutely stank of what I can only describe as the smell of rotting fish, it was absolutely disgusting. I went back to reception to raise the issue and ask for another double room, to which I was told there wasn't one except for a kuch worse one, with ceiling and damp problems etc. I was then given a bottle of febreeze. Gutted, I went back up the stairs and told my girlfriend, who then suggested we try to book into a premier inn or something. When we started phoning around, the reception guy came up and told us there was another double room available as they had just had a cancellation (I wonder why). We went down and were greeted with a similarly dank and unclean feeling room. We had no success getting anywhere else to stay so we decided to get a couple of hours sleep (on top of the covers under our jackets I might add, the room felt way too unclean to properly get into bed). I might also add that the sockets on the wall were badly fitted and loose, and there was only one small toilet per floor, and one shower per floor. This was the worst hotel I've ever seen. In the end we could not sleep due to the walls being paper thin and the guest in the next room was watching television extremely loudly, so we ended up getting up at about quarter to 5 and walking into the city centre in order to get the first train home. It's a shame this hotel was so unbelievably bad as it had been an excellent night up until we arrived back here.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Moonhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Where do I even begin?
At checkin, no one mentioned that money was being taken out of my account, I was merely handed a sloppy receipt when I came back at midnight. Booked this hotel for the 'parking facilities' which was a pothole, garbage ridden dump in a back alley with no spaces. First room we were given was full of broken furniture including the tap, hairs in the teacups, springs sticking out of the bed. We were then moved to a family room which was even worse - the smell of piss, windows that were drilled open and wouldnt shut, beds full of stains and pubic hairs, furniture that all looked like it came from the skip. On top of that, the guy who manned reception was rude and threathened to take more money out of my account since 'they had my details'. We left at 01:30am. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWhizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I decided to stay here for two nights as we could not find anywhere else close to the High Street. Had read previous previews which were not inspiring. Found the room to be in need of decorating and the carpet replaced. The bedlights need to be lowered so that you do not have to get out of bed to switch them off. The Toilet plumbing is bad, it takes hours for the cistern to re-fill.

However the beds were comfortable and clean and the breakast was really good as were the staff. The Polish and Indian girl on reception were helpful.

The owner needs to spend some money on the Hotel to bring it up to a resonable standard.
It is not suitable for disabled or elderly guests. Finally I found it adequate but not worth more than £40 to £60 per night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Booked this on the road without doing full research. I was looking for location near Kelvingrove Hall Museum and off street parking. No lift, we were on the fourth floor, 80 steep steps from breakfast rooms in the basement and parking area. Room was tiny even by European standards. Laminated menu was greasy and gross. None responsive to emails about a left item. Almost $100 per night even though it advertised rooms starting at $60. It was really 60 pounds. The off street parking meant asking people to move cars to get in and out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We (a family of four) stayed here 1 night. The price is not high, which is good but the stairs are very steep. We got the room in the attic and it was not a pleasant heving it so high when you need to carry so many suitcases upstairs.
It is about 1,5km away from the city centre.

It is ok if you travel low budget because it also includes breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
552 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#90 of 95 in Glasgow
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
578 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
207 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Property: Smiths Hotel
Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing