We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Smiths Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Smiths Hotel
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a last minute deal one Friday afternoon for a night out. £34 bed and breakfast.
Free parking at back of hotel for about 6cars. CCTV is hooked up to reception so car relatively safe there.
Hotel is basic and our room didn't have a bathroom but we knew about this when booking. Communal showers and toilet available. Some rooms do have en suite facilities so make sure you book exactly what u want.
Don't see the point in dwelling on the dated decor and damage to rooms because we merely booked this as a place to stay for 1 night so on that basis it gave us what we needed. However I wouldn't recommend it for couples or families.
Located just off M8 so easy to get to.
Plenty of bars, newsagents, restaurants etc within few mins walk of hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel wasn't bad at all - stayed for a night while visiting the city and found it very good. Booked a twin room (which had a double bed with an extra single bed in it!) - decent and friendly staff - en-suite - TV and clean sheets.

HOWEVER....the kettle didn't work in our room, which for an Englishman, a cuppa is a must after a long night on the town!! :-(

Plus, the car park situated down a dirty, dingy alley has limited space for 3-4 cars and doesn't look safe enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have previously reviewed this hotel as good for the price as it is what it is. Unfortunatley this time I was charged £63 for one night which is a deal buster for me as I could have had a much better hotel for the same price. Not saying I won't be back but this is a £35 to £40 a night place so never again at £63 for me I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nonimaclennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very good value as the Smiths always has been. This part of the city has plenty good hotels. Good place for the night and handy for shopping centres roundabout. Lots of good eating places etc nearby. Recomended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 12christinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

I travel here regularly for business and this hotel is the cheapest ANYWHERE in glasgow AND YOU GET A BREAKFAST INCLUDED. Which btw is perfectly good quality.
Ok so the decor is way outdated and not all the rooms have en-suite. But then not everyone's bedrooms at home are en-suite and there are perfectly clean bathrooms on every floor.
Mattresses are not that comfy and it has been hot this week so a bit stuffy at times but hey it's not the ritz so don't expect it. Parking round back is a great game. Gotta be tactical or u get blocked in lol
Just go here if u want limited frills but somewhere decent for the night/week.
Thanks

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank PaulTapscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Well-placed hotel in terms of both restaurants (so when we arrived late in the evening we could easily find food!) and the city centre.

The room was clean and comfortable - a bit too warm but we were provided with a fan that sorted that! The bed was very comfortable, the pillows were a tad lumpy but they really weren't a problem. The bathroom was great!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iaveina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I really don't understand all the terrible reviews. I payed 30 pounds for the night and I got a clean room with a nice view of sauchiehall street, a free breakfast, free parking, and wifi access. They even let me check into my room two hours early. Great service, great price. Shared bathrooms, but you get a TV and sink. It was a cozy little room for a great price. Don't let the bad reviews fool you, this is a nice place. Or maybe I just got a really nice room? Haha ask for room 15

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Compasswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#80 of 93 in Glasgow
572 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
595 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#86 of 93 in Glasgow
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smiths Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smiths Hotel

Address: 963 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £25 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Smiths Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smiths Hotel Glasgow, is a budget hotel located on Glasgow's bustling Sauchiehall Street. This B' Listed Building with striking Victorian facade and is nestled between the city's cosmopolitan centre and the stylish West End. The Smiths Hotel is also within close proximity to theatres, entertainment venues and the city's diverse selection of retail emporia lending to its position as one of Glasgow's budget hotels for city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smiths Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smiths Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing