We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jack Vettriano” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jack Vettriano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Chose the hotel for visit to Vettriano exhibition at Kelvingrove. Room was good, breakfast excellent, staff polite. Location good for visit to Kelvingrove (15 min walk) Sauchiehall Street bars / shopping / bus stops only 3 - 4 min walk. Only downside rooms on 3 floors but no lift. Staff did ask if help needed with bags.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Reg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    262
    168
    56
    41
See reviews for
61
254
89
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the new(ish)paint job and Ikea design furniture. Despite the staff being friendly, this is a dismal hotel. The walls are paper thin, I can hear my neighbour snore and everyone that happens to walk the corridor, including the floor above. There has been a constant loud banging, from heating pipes I think, that has gone on for 5 hours, it's now 2am! The concierge came round, was also surprised by how loud it was but could do nothing, the hotel is apparently full, so I'll just have to carry on staying awake!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkeel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Not great but not bad either. Check-in was efficient enough and no complaints with the staff. The hotel is an old `townhouse` conversion with the biggest snag being the lack of a lift. Being a reasonably fit `just over 50` the fact that I was on the top floor wasn`t too much of an issue but I`d imagine it would be for those a bit older/less mobile than myself. The room was fine - clean and with tea/coffee making facilities. Lack of a room safe was a bit of a letdown though. Showing it`s age (worn carpets/tatty window frame) but you`d expect that given the nature of the hotel. My single room bathroom was tiny but immaculately clean. TV at right angle to bed so a sore neck inevitable for telly addicts. Breakfast was excellent with great choice of both hot & cold offerings. In a word - reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinKilkeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped here over New Year and really enjoyed our stay. Huge room with a very comfy bed, excellent shower and quiet location. Staff were polite, friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is in a relatively quiet street given it is quite close to the city centre. 500 yards up the road is the King's Theatre and the new Hydro Arena, Armadillo and SSEC is about a 20 minute walk away, as is the town centre. Reception staff were friendly as was all the staff we encountered. We had a huge room (102) which faced onto the street but the traffic was not busy enough to disturb our sleep. The breakfast was excellent giving lots of choice on a buffet basis. There was no bar in the hotel but drinks could be ordered and either delivered to your room or to a lounge area at the front of the hotel. All in all a pleasant two night stay.

Room Tip: Room 102 is a huge room which looks onto Elmank Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Booked this hotel through booking.com for £60 room only which was a good deal for the weekend before Christmas.
The hotel doesn't have a car park but there is a car park next door. Reception area is small but check in quick. I had room 212 which was small bu adequate. The bathroom was a bit tired and the fridge in the room was noisy. Also radiator was very difficult to switch on so my room was freezing for most of my stay. I paid for breakfast which was buffet style. There was a lot of choice but the staff were very slow at replenishing juice & hot food.
Check out was a bit of a disaster as there was a mix up with the bill. I would stop here again but only if there was nowhere else available

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely room, excellent breakfast good choice. Another hotel I will stay at again when I am in town. Massive bed which at 5ft 7ins I could sleep across. Good desk space and a retro ps2 in my room (little things)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing