We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel is in an ideal location, especially if you are going to the Theatre! very close to Charring Cross station which is also very handy. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Only negative is there is no lift but then staff will take your bags up, so no issue for us!

Room Tip: we went for an upgraded room and it was massive - well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Jo_1978x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    281
    181
    60
    43
See reviews for
67
272
96
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for three nights. We were given room 009 in the basement which, on arrival, looked absolutely fine. However, when we opened the door to the bathroom it was a wet room which had been modified for disabled guests (although not quite sure how a wheelchair would get to that room anyway as there was no lift). I was disappointed about this as I like to have a bath and do not enjoy wet rooms. We were not told about it when booking or arriving.
I went to reception to see if they had any other rooms available. I was told that unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for that night (Beyoncé was in town) but that they would be able to move me the next day and would move all of our stuff for us while we were out. Sure enough, we returned after a full day out to a new room 002 (still in the basement) but absolutely fine. I think the hotel will need to update its matresses very soon though, they were slightly lumpy, but we still slept well.
The hotel is only 3* but I found it very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We didn't have any problem with noise from the road either.
Breakfast was self-serve and the area was absolutely spotless with plenty of choice. Teas, coffee, juices, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, fruit, toast, bacon, egg, sausages, mushrooms, potato cakes, beans. How anyone can say that the breakfast was not adequate is beyond me!
For the price we paid, it was definitely great value for money and I would stay again (although not in room 009). Walking into the main shopping area only took 10 minutes. We were also right next to the Kings Theatre and treated ourselves to a show on the Saturday night, which was great.
All in all a really good stay.

Room Tip: If you want a proper bathroom, make sure you request not to have one of the disabled wet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroleD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
540 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This Best Western is a little old fashioned, but the quality is good and the staff were very helpful. We had a room on the first floor with no view, but were only in the city for a short break and only in our room to sleep. It wasn't particularly close to the town centre (despite its City Hotel name), but it wasn't expensive for a Sunday night stay and was perfectly adequate. It was clean and the bathroom was modern. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sesto San Giovanni, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I often saty at the City Hotel when in Glasgow for business. It's really a good choice. Rooms are nice, clean and comfy (maybe those at the ground floor are a bit dark). Wi-Fi is perfect and you have desks which allow you to catch up with work (or update your facebook sattus :-) ) with a lot of rooms for your laptop, sheets and calculator. Breakfast (full English. Ehhrrr SCOTTISH, despite kippers are missing! :-) ) is self service and can be enjoyed in a large room with flat tv scren set on BBC. It is within walking distance from many attarctions and restaurants. No problem of parking: a lot of pklaces on the Street and a multi storey just around the corner. Just an advise: if you are physically challenged, bear in mind there's no lift

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattomatteo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Tean, Staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel provided an ideal base for break in Glasgow. Good central position for all the places we wanted to visit. Our main reason for visiting Glasgow was to see the Jack Vettriano Retrospective at the Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery. This within walking distance as was the Macintosh House and the main shopping area. The hotel offers excellent value for money. Efficient check in and helpful, friendly staff. The room was a very good size, well furnished, modern décor and very clean. Breakfast offered cereal, croissants, toast and also the usual hot options - sausages were very good. Coffee machine with fresh beans gave great coffee. We didn't eat dinner there as many great restaurants are available in the area. We tried the Two Fat Ladies at the Buttery which was absolutely fabulous.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for three nights in a deluxe room, on arrival the receptionist was very helpful, highlighting on a map good places to visit, the room was spacious and modern, the only down side is the road noise, secondary or double glazing might be advantageous other than that the room was lovely.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jonneyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskerswell
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room nice and big. Plenty of tea etc. Bathroom clean, but some staining around bath surround. The lady behind reception on arrival was very helpful, explaining the area. The only downside was the noise from outside. We had room 205 to the front of the hotel and the traffic noise was noticeable. Double glazing would help. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
478 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,577 reviews
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#78 of 93 in Glasgow
560 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#71 of 93 in Glasgow
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing