We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 25 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Not a great start when I was told that I had turned up too early to check in at 1200 and that there was nothing that could be done before 1400. To be fair there was a room that became available shortly after which I was given, a fairly cramped and gloomy one with a view of a wall through a small high window (220). Don't accept it if you are offered it.

I certainly don't understand the gushing reports of reception staff. They were not in evidence on this visit, however they were perfectly fine.

Breakfast was a buffet and, while not extensive, was good. There was a English option as well as cereals, a little fruit and a few croissants. There is a bean to cup coffee machine.

Location was good and central. There is a reasonable selection of restaurants to the north and
theatres too.

Price was nothing to write home about at nearly £110 for a poky room free from any view.

Cleanliness was good.

A good complimentary wifi connection is available as is tea and coffee. There is a small fridge provided too.

Noise was acceptable but not great. You I could certainly hear the corridor traffic and street noise was ever present as the window had to be kept open to prevent overheating. There is no thermostat and only a rather over enthusiastic Victorian radiator.

The bathroom was good and clean, although the ventilation was nonexistent from the hopeless ceiling extractor fan.

So, it's fine but not special. It has lots more charm than a Premier Inn, but is not what some reports rate it as. Perhaps a better room would have improved my rating, although if this is representative of the others then you might want to consider a stay at her majesty's pleasure as better value. Don't turn up before 1400. It's against the rules! Caveat Emptor.

Room Tip: Don't accept 220!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I booked this hotel online for a two night business stay. It was clean, the staff were efficient and very friendly, and the room was excellent. The breakfast was self-service and the food was of excellent quality. I would recommend this hotel for others looking for a value-for-money, quality stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The minute i arrived the staff made me feel like at home. Especially Joe in reception who should be awarded a medal for great customer service. The breakfast was great and they even accommodated my vegi sausage request. Rooms spotless and comfy. SECC 5 mins away in a taxi. Pubs and restaurants right on your doorstep. Great little hotel with great staff. Thanks Debbie from Bath

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel is in an ideal location, especially if you are going to the Theatre! very close to Charring Cross station which is also very handy. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Only negative is there is no lift but then staff will take your bags up, so no issue for us!

Room Tip: we went for an upgraded room and it was massive - well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Jo_1978x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for three nights. We were given room 009 in the basement which, on arrival, looked absolutely fine. However, when we opened the door to the bathroom it was a wet room which had been modified for disabled guests (although not quite sure how a wheelchair would get to that room anyway as there was no lift). I was disappointed about this as I like to have a bath and do not enjoy wet rooms. We were not told about it when booking or arriving.
I went to reception to see if they had any other rooms available. I was told that unfortunately the hotel was fully booked for that night (Beyoncé was in town) but that they would be able to move me the next day and would move all of our stuff for us while we were out. Sure enough, we returned after a full day out to a new room 002 (still in the basement) but absolutely fine. I think the hotel will need to update its matresses very soon though, they were slightly lumpy, but we still slept well.
The hotel is only 3* but I found it very clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful. We didn't have any problem with noise from the road either.
Breakfast was self-serve and the area was absolutely spotless with plenty of choice. Teas, coffee, juices, yoghurts, cereals, pastries, fruit, toast, bacon, egg, sausages, mushrooms, potato cakes, beans. How anyone can say that the breakfast was not adequate is beyond me!
For the price we paid, it was definitely great value for money and I would stay again (although not in room 009). Walking into the main shopping area only took 10 minutes. We were also right next to the Kings Theatre and treated ourselves to a show on the Saturday night, which was great.
All in all a really good stay.

Room Tip: If you want a proper bathroom, make sure you request not to have one of the disabled wet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#8 of 93 in Glasgow
991 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#18 of 93 in Glasgow
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing