We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This would not have been my first choice of hotel to stay in, I'll be honest. This is mainly due to location - there are closer hotels to where I conduct my business trips in Glasgow. But my HR people stuck me here and I was dismayed at first.

However, my disappointment soon disappeared. With polite and friendly staff, a cosy room, spacious bathroom and free wifi (always a bonus, am I right?), I was in my element.

I like my hotels to have a gym so I can pound the treadmill at night, but this hotel is a stone's throw from the lovely Kelvin Grove Park so it was trainers on and off I go, running along the picturesque Kelvin River. The lack of gym (although there's a deal with a nearby one you can take advantage of for a fiver) was soon forgotten.

There's plenty of bars and restaurants in easy walking distance, and Buchanan Street's shopping nerve centre isn't that far away either.

There was a problem with the electricity in my room one night. Fearing hours of waiting, I waited in the lounge with a cuppa. The staff ensured it was a priority to fix and I was back in my room before I'd finished my brew.

I'll be telling my HR people to book me back in the Best Western Glasgow City Hotel in future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    275
    178
    59
    43
See reviews for
66
267
95
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Visiting Glasgow to go to musical show in King's Theatre so location was perfect. Hotel room spotless - if being a tad nit picking my friend thought the pillows were a bit hard. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to people. Would have liked to be able to go in and out the front entrance of the hotel without having to walk past smokers!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I arrived late on a one night stop over in Glasgow. There is a secure NCP car park just yards away and plenty of restaurants within a 5 min walk. The room was large, clean and quiet. Would probably stop here again if in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leic68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here whilst on our short break to Scotland. Overall hotel is good considering cleanliness, location and service. But disappointed with heating system. Management switch on the central heating at times as they wants.Guest do not have the option of change as they wish. What a rubbish? SO YOU HAVE TO WAIT even your freezing? Except the heating issue, I can not find any faults.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights in May with my friend. We had two rooms on the ground floor. Quite dark rooms - furniture is dark too which doesn't help. Had a double room which was fine for one but wouldn't want to have had two in it - not a lot of space! Bathroom was good and the bath had a shower over it and plenty of hot water.
Didn't book for breakfast as it didn't suit our plans to do so so not able to comment on that. Staff at the front desk were very helpful and supplied all sorts of information we wanted.
As others have said very good location - only 5 minutes from Charring Cross Station which is a big bonus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsp050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My boyfriend and I booked a room here for a weekend and it was just right. The room was a bit of a squeeze and when I say small I mean that our fridge wouldn't open at all because the bed was too close... The staff were friendly and understanding which is great because we managed to get locked out of our room several times and then our key card stopped working so they dealt with us in a pleasant enough manner haha! We never tried the food or room service and although we were told there was a dvd player there wasn't one in the room but after asking in at reception we managed to get them to send us a playstation 2 to the room so we could watch the movies we had bought! The hotel is right next to the train station and next to a wide variety of restaurants, shops and bars so we made the most of that! The subway is a bit of a walk away but once you get there you can go wherever really! Great little hotel!
The bathroom was very clean as was the room and being on the first floor we could hear quite a bit of noise from the street but it was comforting in a way!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyHHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
552 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
535 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing