We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I SLEPT IN THE RECEPTION!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I SLEPT IN THE RECEPTION!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Seriously, this is not a joke. I hope you won't have the "chance" to sleep in this hotel, but if you'll have when you arrive look at the reception and next on the left. You will see a door.. I slept there, like a guardian of the hotel. I slept with my head on the same wall of the reception, so I heard the check-in of all the guest arriving during the night. And the guy working at the reception didn't have the decency to ask new guests to not make noise because there was a poor looser sleeping in the reception! Terrible hotel with poor brown sad furniture. I hope to not see a Best Western in all my entire life.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Federica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    269
    173
    59
    43
See reviews for
64
260
93
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I had the misfortune to be sent to stay at this hotel for ten days whilst working at this year's Commonwealth Games. I rang ahead of time to request a quiet room and ended up in a dark, smelly room on the ground floor with no view. The room was extremely noisy as it was on a corridor leading to the dining room and every time anyone went through the door at the end of the corridor my head was literally bounced against the head board of the bed. The floors of the building creak like crazy too so sleep without ear plugs was impossible. The first few days were unbearably hot so sleeping was difficult, even after I had been provided with a fan. The only way to sleep was to stay on top of the bed with the window wide open - quiet room? A further problem is the fact that I don't think these rooms have ever been refurbished since the UK public smoking ban came into force so by morning the room stank so much of old tobacco smoke that I had a permanent sore throat until I came home again! I also saw other selfish residents sitting in their windows to smoke on the sly -come on, police the no-smoking laws instead of paying lip service to them. Now you might think I can't find anything else to gripe about - wrong. A TV that constantly locks up and goes garbled on almost all of the channels due to poor signal, internet coverage that was at best intermittent, and almost no mobile coverage inside the building, though admittedly that is NOT the hotel's fault

Plus marks? Very few - the staff are extremely pleasant and the breakfast is lovely.

I don't doubt the price per night for this hotel during the games was extremely high and I'm glad the company picked up the tab because I would have felt seriously ripped off had I had to pay it myself.

Not impressed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked for one night to attend the closing ceremony of the Commonwealth Games. Paid £125.00 for bed and Irish breakfast for two. Fifteen minute walk from the city centre and main shopping area. Facia of the building as was the street it was located on appeared tired. On entry the receptionist was efficient and friendly and soon allocated a room. It was on the first floor it was very small, smelt of smoke, no view and the constant rumbling of extractor fans from the hotel and other nearby buildings. Water mark stains on the ceiling obviously from a previous incident. Needless to stay we requested a different room. Again the receptionist was helpful and we were allocated a "disabled room" on the lower ground floor, near the breakfast room. Room much larger but again little ventilation. Bathroom obviously adapted for disabled guests but had a musty smell and limited toiletries. Due to only using the hotel as a one night stop did not feel we could again complain as obviously all the rooms would not have met to our expectations of a 3 star hotel. Must admit nice large bed with clean linen. Breakfast the next morning was disappointing. All self service and although various selections after you had taken your food on a tray ( not dissimilar to a supermarket cafe) to another musty smelling breakfast room, our appetite was lost. Dirty marks on walls, creaking floors and disappointing rooms means we would not recommend or stay at this hotel again. Good job the fantastic Closing Ceremony of the Commonwealth Games softened the blow of a stay that would have otherwise been marred.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShereeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed just one night visiting for the commonwealth games, on arrival the lady on reception was extremely helpful giving us a map, checking the site of our venue then showing us which way to walk or the train station to aim for. She also provided lots of information re shops, restaurants and bars.
The room was in the basement therefore we had difficulty with phone reception and no wifi, but it was clean and very comfortable. We heard very little noise from other guests which we expected do to our location near the breakfast room.
Breakfast was excellent lots of choice and the help yourself was a bonus as you could refill plates as often as required.
Would definitely stay here again on another trip to Glasgow.
I do agree prices were higher due to the games but all hotels I looked at had done the same and for the quality and location it was one of the cheapest.

Room Tip: If wifi needed ask for a room not in basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoncasterMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was allocated room 306 which was at the very top of the hotel. Room very small, limited ventilation. I was informed by the receptionist if I had asked I would have been given a fan, why not just leave the fan in the room seeing the weather was so hot. The hotel us about 15 minute walk from Queen Street railway station. Good location, close to restaurants, cafés and shops. Staff very helpful, room clean if uncomfortable. Few toiletries in the bathroom. Bathroom small but serviceable. Good breakfast, but you do have to get everything as all that is on the table is salt and pepper.

Room Tip: Don't accept either room 306 or 307 as they are both at the top of the hotel. Try for room in 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverfox21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Good room, good shower, good wifi , clean, very good friendly staff. :-)
Location ok, not as central as advertised but still only 15-20 minutes fast walking from centre (uphill !).

CHARGED £190 for a £100 room because commonwealth games on, is pretty disgusting & taking advantage tho, if not for that i'd give a high score, because of that its a low overall score. :-(

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was only my second visit to Glasgow. Previously I was on holiday in Edinburgh and only went to Glasgow for the day. This time I go to see much more of the city.
Staying here was mid way between the office and Sauchiehall Street (and Bath Street) where all the restaurants were. So it was conveniently located.
I had to eat out every night, but there is a breakfast room provided. (Breakfast was really good).
It was quite warm that week, so I was greatful for the fan provided in the room. The room had all the usual tea/coffee etc. More importantly the rooms were clean including the bathroom.
I would say that this is a good place to stay if you need to be in the Argyle Street area. It's not far from Glasgow central.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tardis9259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Glasgow City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Glasgow City Hotel

Property: Best Western Glasgow City Hotel
Address: 27 Elmbank Street, Glasgow G2 4PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Glasgow City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Glasgow City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow City Hotel Scotland
Glasgow Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing