We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #52 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed here for an elton john concert and a shopping weekend. The hotel is a 15 min walk from the centre of Glasgow and a 10 minute walk from the SECC. The room was stunning and was clean. Perfect size for me and my boyfriend. The breakfast was just enough for us to do a days shopping. All in all this hotel was fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xohxbabyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    297
    198
    82
    91
See reviews for
77
462
40
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Having visited the Bilberry lounge bar in the hotel on a previous occasion, my wife and I took advantage of a Groupon offer to stay at the hotel for £80 including 2 free cocktails and a £20 dinner voucher.
We booked the night of Saturday 11th. June and arrived mid afternoon. On arrival at reception, the receptionist, who was very friendly and helpful couldn't find our booking. She searched under our name then my telephone number and then our Groupon voucher before allocating a room.
We were on the first floor at the rear of the hotel. The corridor walls are finished in black and the lack of windows mean that they are very dark and overpowering. This isn't helped by the fact that the lights work on motion sensors, so when you enter the corridor is initially in pitch darkness.
The rooms are very small but pretty well equipped. Being Glasgow, someone had nicked the handles from the drawers!! and we felt they were about due some refurbishment, albeit the hotel is not that old.
After a couple of hours in the room we received a telephone call from reception to ask if we had used the shower recently as it was leaking onto the dining room below and we would have to move to another room. We were moved to a room at the front of the hotel which appeared to be in need of some refreshment with a drawer front missing, the sink plug missing and the bed sagging. It was also very noisy due to the traffic on Sauchiehall Street outside. We called down to reception and were quickly moved to a third room at the back of the hotel. All seemed fine this time although again some refreshment was required.
We had dinner in the Indian Restaurant called Bukhara in the hotel. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. The wine was good value at £14.95. The only drawback in the restaurant was being approached by 5 different members of waiting staff within 7 minutes to take our drinks order...a bit of overkill.
The cocktails in the Bilberry bar was delicious and very well presented.
Breakfast in the morning was just OK but service was fine.
On summing up I would say that everyone is trying their hardest in the hotel but they just haven't got it quite right yet.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We booked through lastminute.com and were promised a "stylish 4 star boutique hotel".
The reception was friendly and efficient and we were allocated a different room immediately we complained about the extractor fan noise from the kitchen. However, the second room was, if anything, closer to the extractor fans than the first. Third time lucky, the room was actually a little bigger than the other two (although by "boutique" I suspect they may mean "bijou" since all rooms are a little tight for space). Later in the evening, as we prepared to go out, we discovered that although there seemed to be hot water supply to the room we could not get the shower to run warm. Since we were running late we used the bath. We let reception know that there was a problem but, despite assurances that someone would check, nothing was done. When we checked out in the morning, nobody even bothered to ask if our stay had been OK. We won't be rushing back....

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UptheTrossachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Check in was fine, reception staff friendly & helpful. Some parking at hotel available.
Room - comfortable enough, furniture & decoration tired. bathroom small but adequate, shower base felt flimsy and shower wasn't very powerful. Wine, chocs & rose nice touch as part of the groupon deal. Cocktails served no problem.
Dinner in the restaurant, although a specific indian menu as part of the deal, was absolutely first class and the staff were fine.
Bed was very comfortable, air conditioning worked a treat, very noisy outside in the early hours but hey ho Glasgow - Sauchiehall Street!!!
Breakfast in the main dining room - champagne offered and accepted by the non driver quite happily! All self service, plenty of choice of cereals, pastries, bread, fruit juices, tea & coffee. Hot food - only scrambled eggs offered along with beans, mushrooms, hash browns, square sausage, bacon, tomato. other half would have liked the choice of fried egg. Well cooked and tasty.
Overall, best part was the dinner, would go back for that alone. Disappointed in the room,we felt it was in need of refurbishment.

Room Tip: Eat in the restuarant, food fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Stayed at the Lorne Hotel as part of a groupon deal. Didn't know what to expect. Ab fab!!!!!
On arrival we were given a room with no bath and we had specifically paid to upgrade to a room with a bath. The receptionist sorted this ASAP. Had dinner in the indian restaurant which was also fantastic. No complaints. The only issue is the noise of the traffic. The double glazing is very poor. Would definitely stay again !!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago taking advantage of a voucher. The staff at reception were very helpfull and the rooms we very clean, fashionable and finished to a high standard. We also ate in the hotel's Indian restaurant. The restaurant was fantastic, staff were very pleasant and helpfull, setting wa great and the food was superb and very good value for money. We would definately recommend and will definately be back!

Room Tip: Eat in the hotel restaurant, its fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craighannah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Quite simply a good hotel located close to the University. The staff (every single one of them) were all incredibly friendly and genuinely helpful.. nothing was too much trouble.

The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have slept on.

Perfect for a business trip. If I was going to be picky I would say it's a shame that the hallways are a bit drab and the lights are on sensor / timer arrangements. But that would be being picky! Oh, and the (free) internet didn't work for me for some reason. Probably a dodgy LAN cable.. I couldn't be bothered to ask for another.

As a note, there is no parking, but if you ask the staff in advance (and have a reasonably small car [you'll see why], they will probably arrange to let you keep it in their underground storage area).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libspero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
788 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
207 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
402 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#90 of 95 in Glasgow
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing