We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like curry!”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very comfortable & clean. Shower excellent, very powerful!.
Wi-fi rubbish though.
Restaurant very good if you like curry! Very high quality food but got sick of only eating Asian food after 4 nights. Very limited European menu - fish & chips, scampi & chips and a couple of other uninteresting meals. Restaurant staff did not seem to understand that clients with their colleagues dining would like separate bills so that they can charge their employer. It took 40 minutes one night to get this sorted!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

we chose the Lorne hotel as it was near the Kelvin grove and we were attending a function .Reception staff were indifferent when we checked in. The room was the size of a postage stamp so much so I could have put the light out and been in bed before it was dark!!
the bed was tiny and we had one set of towels and one mug for the two of us. Despite a request to reception no towels or mug was forthcoming.
breakfast to be fair was ok marred only by the fact we were sitting at the window as the crane hoisted two men to clean them as we ate breakfast. Very poor all round

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

To be utterly fair, I'm going to start this review by stating that I stayed at the Lorne with a colleague, and we got a deal which meant that we only paid £50 each for our rooms. That's a good price for a hotel, although to be honest I would rather have paid another £20-£30 and stayed somewhere which delivered on its promise.

The real shame with the Lorne is that I could easily be writing a completely different review - scoring it 4/5 rather than 2/5.

On arrival, the hotel looked great - stylish and well-presented, it was a step up from some places I've stayed in Glasgow. However, right from the start little things begain to chip away at the image. The reception staff at check-in were pretty abrupt, close to being rude. On going to our rooms, one of them was still being cleaned so couldn't be used and the other (my room) had a strong smell of paint. We left our bags there and then went down to use one of their meeting rooms - an airless, windowless room, with gloomy lighting that gave my colleagues headaches. The front desk printed off some documents for us (often included in "business packages") but we were only told afterwards that we would be charged for them. Drinks arrived, but without our full order, and there were no cables to connect laptops to the room's big screen.

My bedroom was a really good size, and the bathroom was lovely - although it had a window (with blind) that looked into the bedroom and seemed strange and unnecessary. Rather than a double bed, I had two singles pushed together which would have been fine had one of the beds not been almost unusable. I could feel the springs pushing through into my back, and the whole bed felt rickety. At least I had the other single to move over to, which was hugely comfortable by comparison.

The saving grace for the Lorne is the bar - although lacking in atmosphere (and customers) on a Tuesday night, the staff were friendly, attentive and helpful.

Most of my complaints are small things, and it probably comes across as though I'm being petty. But for so many little things to be wrong when I was there for less than 24 hours really does make the difference.

There are lots of good hotels in Glasgow that I would happily go back to. The Lorne could be one of them, but right now it's just lacking the consistency for me to book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We arrived after a long drive to a rather nice and clean looking hotel. Warm friendly staff gave us our key and we made our way to a clean cosy comfortable room. Having driven all day we decided a shower and clean up in the on suite bath and shower, a little drink in the bar which I found to be on the pricey side and a bite to eat. Then of to bed. We was on the second floor and an asian function was going on, on the floor below us. We felt evert beat and bass through the bed and about 10.30 the tried to phone reception and ended up using our own phone as the phone in the room wouldn't conect. We was told that the function was going on till 1am in the morning and as there was no spare rooms we had to endure the noise. We were also told that there was another function on the next night. If you book this hotel find out if there is a function on and if there is either ask for a floor other than the second one. Ap at from that we were pleased with the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyhors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Was here on business and found the hotel staff to be friendly and interior to be modern and functional. The room wasn't massive but fine for one person. Great breakfast selection too. It's not too close to the centre but fine for visiting the west side of the city. Good bars nearby too.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Matthew_Blackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked my parents into this hotel for their 40th wedding anniversary and it was a disaster from start to finish.

When they arrived the reception staff had no note of their booking despite the fact that it had been booiked 2 weeks prior to their arrival and my parents had the confirmation e mail with them!! When the booking was finally located they were told that they had to make payment even although I had already given credit card details on the hotels secure booking website?? My parents contacted me to try and sort things out and when I eventually got through to the hotel they said that although I had given my card details this was only used for guests that do not show up!! NO reference to this was made on the confirmation e mail!! I eventually presuaded them to take my card details over the phone again in order that they would let my parents go to their room after more than an hour from their initial arrival. When they eventually found their room, as the lights were dim and the corridors were not easy to negotiate, there were stains over the carpet and the room was extremely basic - nothing like the photographs on the website suggested. However nothing could be done as my parents had arrangements for the evening and were already ruinning late. In the morning when they came down for breakfast there was very little choice at the buffet and what was there was cold and uncovered. When they went back to their room after breakfast they key card to their door had been deactivated and they had to stand in a long queue at reception to get this resolved as the hotel had thought it was just a one night stay. I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone, yes, it may be centrally located but for the money I was charged it is certainly not good value for money!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Argyll73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positive:
- Rooms were okay.
- Bathroom was clean, had everything you want. A.
- Beds were very comfy.
- Breakfast was great. Fair choices, tasted great.
- The downstairs bar is neat. They have open until long after midnight, and the drinks were good.
- Location is very good. Many good restaurants in walking distance, a park, and very near to the SECC.
- Rather cheap. Good value.

Negative:
- They seem to have organizational problems. When we arrived, one of our two rooms wasn't ready. We went to the room we already had and were told that we'd get a call when the other one would be ready. Well, we never got that call. After about 4 hours we went down to the reception to ask, and were told the room was ready already.
- Television was very disappointing. Very few channels, the digital TV had a lot of connection issues and was overall very slow.
- Rooms, though overall fine, would not let you open the windows more than a couple of cm. Bummer if you like fresh air.

Overall, if you're planning to stay at the Lorne hotel just for a couple of nights and you'll be out and about for most of the day, I'd say go ahead. It serves its purpose and it's relatively cheap. If you're in Glasgow for an extended stay and plan to spend time in your room, you may want to keep looking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
847 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#58 of 93 in Glasgow
606 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
588 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £48 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lorne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing