We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked my stay”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I liked my stay”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Nice place, clean and still looks new, I thought the price of drink was expensive but I've been told its about the normal price for a city center hotel, had steak and chips for lunch and was probably 1 of the best steaks I've ever had, and I've had lots of steaks, even the chips were delicious, fine and near the new sse hydrodome for concert goers, also nice freindly staff who were willing to help at all times, wish I stayed for 2 nights now ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    301
    201
    87
    95
See reviews for
79
470
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

As a party of 5 we visited the Indian Restaurant at The Lorne Hotel for a Christmas Night out.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We had a few drinks at the bar before we went through for our meal. The price of drinks was about average for a City Centre Hotel. Lovely cocktails and lovely atmosphere . The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the staff very attentive. The Restaurant manager made sure we had everything we needed and we were not rushed at all throughout our meal, in fact we were at our table for about 4 hours . I would definitely recommend this restaurant . The bar had a DJ on and he was really good, not too noisy so you could still have a conversation without shouting. So we would just like to say a big thank you to the Restaurant manager and all the staff for making our Christmas night out very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenceskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was fine, nothing to rave about. Rooms were compact, but had all the essentials needed. We had to be asked to move from our original room as it was stinking of gloss and not to mention it was freezing and the heating didn't work. The manager was great and moved us no problem.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Arbroathians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay in this hotel. It's really stunning, and staff are very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, couldn't have asked for any more. Would recommend to anyone visiting Glasgow or just looking fr an overnight stay away from home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glitterbug07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was absolutely brilliant for start to finish. The reception staff were amazing and so helpful, they phoned a taxi for us for our night out which arrived so quickly and was clean. The rooms were lovely with fresh bed linen and towels. The room was so clean and big. The TV had free-view channels. The room was just overall amazing and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W dunbartonshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

4 of us stayed here for one night after Rod Stewart Concert. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were small but freshly decorated and clean. Also tea/coffee included. We ate in the restaurant because we read good reviews about the food and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious as was the Breakfast the following morning. . Again staff very attentive. The Bar was lovely and comfortable and cocktails were some of the best we have had in Glasgow. Prices were also reasonable for the City. We will definitely use this Hotel again as it is only a short walk from the Hydro and some lovely pubs and restaurants in the West End.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very comfortable & clean. Shower excellent, very powerful!.
Wi-fi rubbish though.
Restaurant very good if you like curry! Very high quality food but got sick of only eating Asian food after 4 nights. Very limited European menu - fish & chips, scampi & chips and a couple of other uninteresting meals. Restaurant staff did not seem to understand that clients with their colleagues dining would like separate bills so that they can charge their employer. It took 40 minutes one night to get this sorted!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 93 in Glasgow
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#9 of 93 in Glasgow
478 reviews
Devoncove Hotel
#88 of 93 in Glasgow
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing