We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent stay”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #49 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Recent stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fantastic service. Great to eat, very pleasant staff. The only issue was having to park on the main road outside, although parking is free after 6pm and up to 8am it's a slight nuisance / in-convenience. But if you pay a touch before 6pm it takes you over the 8am deadline the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    290
    189
    73
    87
See reviews for
72
448
34
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Fantastic staff - they were (without exception) warm and welcoming, friendly, efficient and very professional.

Great food, gorgeous decor. A modern hotel that combines service, comfort and 'personal touch' hospitality perfectly.

Super value in a good location.

Will go again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffreyernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The staff were very helpful and the rooms although on the small side were very clean and presentable.

Its situated in a great area for restaurants and sight seeing.

i would stay again but not in room 314

Room Tip: We stayed in room 314 and and we had the misfortune to have some sort of air conditioner/air vent go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights having read the posts of the previous reviewers. I would agree that the rooms were small, but adequate and not bad value for the price we paid. The bathroom was clean and staff provided extra bedding on request, as it was rather cold. The breakfast was served in the restaurant and freshly cooked. Although there were some issues with communication at the front desk, the staff were polite and well presented. We ate in the Indian restaurant on the first night and the food in there was superb. Parking is an issue of you stay Monday - Friday.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mowbreck61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Service, care, hygiene are key elements of my reviews. Back in Glasgow at a busy time of year for really challenging family issue (illness). Found the Lorne hotel - staff amazingly helpful (Audrey and Veronica especially). Room great, service great, cleanliness good. But the genuine care and help I received was OUTSTANDING!! Future return visits to the city of my birth will have me stay there.... It's always all about service and they have excelled here!!
It's also near the best style and gastro pubs in Britain (better than London!)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThisisGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Nice place, clean and still looks new, I thought the price of drink was expensive but I've been told its about the normal price for a city center hotel, had steak and chips for lunch and was probably 1 of the best steaks I've ever had, and I've had lots of steaks, even the chips were delicious, fine and near the new sse hydrodome for concert goers, also nice freindly staff who were willing to help at all times, wish I stayed for 2 nights now ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

As a party of 5 we visited the Indian Restaurant at The Lorne Hotel for a Christmas Night out.
On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff. We had a few drinks at the bar before we went through for our meal. The price of drinks was about average for a City Centre Hotel. Lovely cocktails and lovely atmosphere . The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the staff very attentive. The Restaurant manager made sure we had everything we needed and we were not rushed at all throughout our meal, in fact we were at our table for about 4 hours . I would definitely recommend this restaurant . The bar had a DJ on and he was really good, not too noisy so you could still have a conversation without shouting. So we would just like to say a big thank you to the Restaurant manager and all the staff for making our Christmas night out very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenceskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing