We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what was expected”
Review of Lorne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lorne Hotel
Ranked #50 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what was expected”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Rude receptionist, very unhelpful, stained carpet, bathroom window had blinds which were broken so you had no privacy for showering, asked to change rooms as we had paid for a suite, that was fine only problem was different floor! Carpet was also stained in this room and the twin beds were broken. Nicer hotels in glasgow. Would definatly avoid this. Only redeeming feature was the pleasent barman!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    295
    194
    78
    89
See reviews for
73
457
38
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed in Lorne Hotel for one night, last week with my wife. We've received very worm welcome and were directed to our room. Room was a good size with clean and modern bathroom.

On the evening we went to their restaurant and meal was delicious !! So were cocktails at the bar after !!

Very good value for price.

If u want to go to the Glasgow Airport from the hotel I recommend to use local company - West End Radio Cars (www.westendradiocars.co.uk). Car was on time, friendly driver and price was only 13 pounds !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

4 of us stayed on sat 22nd feb on a deal for dinner, bed + breakfast + it was great value for money. Our bedroom was very clean + comfortable. The staff were all very friendly + helpful, especially in the restaurant + our waiter Alfie couldn't do enough for us.The meal was excellent as was the buffet breakfast next morning. We had no complaints at all + enjoyed our stay + would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heathertodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellshill
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My fiancee and i stayed for an overnite on Saturday the 15th of Febuary with a GGD FOR £69 with dinner, bed and breakfast included and what a bargin it was arrived at the hotel after 4 and was promply checked in by the wonderfull staff. Room was a bit small but had everything you needed in it with a great shower with lots of power, Nothing i can fault, everything about this hotel ozzes class the fixtures and fittings around the reception and bar area are 5* will be staying again in the very near future....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorry8574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathkinness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

4 of us stayed at The Lorne this weekend. The hotel was very modern and comfortable. The bonus was an excellent hotel bar - which we enjoyed to the full. The beds were comfortable and the morning breakfast excellent. At £75 a night per room we thought this was good value and will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I paid £69 for an overnight deal of dinner, bed and breakfast and this represented terrific value for money. Our room was a bit on the small side but well appointed with a lovely shower room. The evening meal was excellent and the buffet breakfast the following morning was first class too. Parking was a problem, but that's always the case in that part of the city. Staff who dealt with us were friendly and attentive; we could not have asked for any better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Got a 'great deal' stay to this hotel for £69 - bed, breakfast & 3 course dinner in the restaurant. To be honest didn't expect much for that price but was really surprised by the lovely room - really clean comfy bed. Booked dinner for 8 o'clock - restaurant staff were really helpful & food was fantastic then after to the cocktail bar - prices were usual cocktail bar prices. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 509 - hardly any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
574 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#11 of 95 in Glasgow
328 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorne Hotel

Property: Lorne Hotel
Address: 923 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lorne Hotel is a 3 star hotel which prides itself on offering 4 star service, where you will enjoy your experience by leaving feeling that you had received 4 star service from food, cocktails and customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lorne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lorne Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing